Ulrichen to Brig - On the Rhone Again.... - CycleBlaze

September 22, 2023

Ulrichen to Brig

How's that pedal, anyways?

I failed to mention while waxing poetic about the 1000m climb yesterday that my pedal fell off. Yes, on one of the switchbacks the left pedal just...fell...off. So I screw it back on, and two switchbacks later it falls off again.

the offending part
Heart 0 Comment 2
Mike AylingYou could try some Loctite on the threads.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago
Patrick ParnoI might have to do that, Mike. I have stayed away as I do need to remove it in 4 weeks, but I could probably fit the bike in the box with just one pedal off.
Reply to this comment
7 months ago

By this time I am biking with Dennis, and we both look at it and try affixing it. Finally, after another "drop" off, Dennis suggests we screw in from the other side to try and fix the threads. We do, it worked, so we screwed it into the correct side and the rest you can read about in yesterday's blog.

All good until today when we start out and it felt wonky. It fell off again, but I was able to screw it back in tightly and that seemed to keep it happy. But we are biking along some cross country ski trails they are building and it is very pretty.

Fun's in store in two months!
Heart 1 Comment 0

You know how they say you should bike early in the mountains? Well it rained all morning as per forecast, and our late start worked out great. There were times when we just had to stop and smell the, er, cows...

Happy cow Country
Heart 2 Comment 0

A few very steep sections had my partner grumbling, I am guessing a few 25% grades, but short. 

Is this the last hill?
Heart 3 Comment 0

We crossed and recrossed the Rhone several times with wonderful infrastructure for bicycles. 

bridges galore
Heart 2 Comment 0

Finally onto some pavement! And the sun had burned the clouds off, it was warming up, and life was grand.

We're hoping for more sections like this!
Heart 2 Comment 0

The weather and scenery just wouldn't stop.

my Proof of Life photo
Heart 4 Comment 0

Shortly after this we had to get onto the Furkastrasse, a highway which descended all the way to Brig. No photos as I had both hands desperately holding onto my grips. Fast descent, cars and trucks whizzing by, lots of tight turns. I had fun, but this was NOT Marjory's favourite part! We eventually, after almost 10 km, get to a sedate trail into Brigg for the last 5km or so. Very nice, used a lot by locals.

slight downhill, paved trail. Marjory's favourite part!
Heart 2 Comment 0

When we arrive in Brigg, we stashed the panniers and went in search for a bike repair place. Three bike shops later, we realize it was not to be. Nobody could deal with these crank arms, we may need to find a Koga shop. I think I can limp through another day or two with the bike as is, the pedal didn't unwind since this morning....

A late dinner with local wine, and we are planning for tomorrow!

plus another 7 km looking for bike shops!
Heart 2 Comment 0

Today's ride: 47 km (29 miles)
Total: 92 km (57 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 12
Comment on this entry Comment 0