Day 7: Free day in Mainz - Rhineland adventure with friends - CycleBlaze

July 8, 2023

Day 7: Free day in Mainz

Exploring the city of Gutenberg

St. Martin's Cathedral in Mainz
Heart 0 Comment 0

Every city has a claim to fame. Mainz's is the legacy of Johannes Gutenberg, the German inventor, and craftsman who introduced letterpress printing to Europe with his movable-type printing press. I had a free day to explore a little bit of this large city. 

I picked up my rental bike for the coming week which is quite like last week's. It is a tad bit lighter. I pedaled a short distance to the central marketplatz to begin my exploration. It was a Saturday morning, and the plaza was alive with an impressive farmer's market. It is berry and cherry season with the stalls full of fresh fruit. I bought a sack of local apricots for the coming days.

Saturday farmer's market in full swing
Heart 0 Comment 0

I am not a museum person and opted to skip the Gutenberg Museum. My friend Ellen joined me as we explored St. Martin's Cathedral on the marketplatz. I search for an apothecary to buy some nasal decongestant. I have a cold. German drug stores do not carry these types of over-the-counter meds. You need to go to an apothecary. The apothecary I found was quite helpful. She asked me a series of questions and produced her suggestions from behind the counter. 

The rest of the day was people watching and strolling the plazas and gardens to the Rhine. Lunch was calling and I had not had my morning coffee. Ellen and I opted for a cafe on the amrketplatz and had a wonderful lunch of cheesy spaetzle with onions and ham. 

I love the flower vendors
Heart 0 Comment 0
So much local produce for sale
Heart 0 Comment 0

I cycled back to the hotel making a stop at a local bier haus for a Pilsner since it was quite hot. It was the afternoon, and the specialty was a dessert waffle. Ellen and I shared an apple, walnut, and cinnamon waffle with a side of caramel ice cream. The beer and waffle combination told me it was time for a nap.

St. Martin's Cathedral
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finished the evening with the group at a Turkish seafood restaurant that was quite good although hot. Many places in Germany do not air condition their spaces. The heat lead us after dinner back to the bier haus for another Pilsner. 

Good afternoon combination of a pilsner and apple walnut waffle with caramel ice cream
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow, I begin cycling the section of the Rhine known as Romantic Rhine. It promises to be a very epic ride. The temperatures tomorrow will be in the mid-90s. Hoping for an early start to beat the heat.

Today's Trivia

The Gutenberg Bible, named after its printer, Johannes Gutenberg, was the first complete book printed from movable type in about 1455 in Mainz, Germany.

Interesting mirror with a ring of books. Photo stolen from Ellen. I am gazing out the window.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0