Day 12: Bad Godesberg - Cologne - 29 miles - Rhineland adventure with friends - CycleBlaze

July 13, 2023

Day 12: Bad Godesberg - Cologne - 29 miles

Super ride on my final stage of the tour

A beautiful cycle path out of Bonn
Heart 0 Comment 0

It may not be the final stage of the Tour de France, but today was my final stage on the Rhine.  It was truly an enjoyable ride! 

Passing around a cargo container loading dock
Heart 0 Comment 0

This morning started with blue skies as I departed Bonn. This city has amazing bike infrastructure that extends many miles out of the town on the Rhine. I soon found myself in the industrial Rhine. The route cycled around a large cargo ship container area. It was only a short cycle returning to the Romantic Rhine. 

Heading off the cycle path and through villages
Heart 1 Comment 0

The path along the river ended at Bornheim where I started a road ride through villages. I spotted a coffee house in Wesseling. It was time for mid-morning coffee and cake. I was feeling American and chose a chocolate iced donut with my traditional coffee and cream. 

A super sized mural coming into Cologne
Heart 1 Comment 0

Refueled, I continued cycling along both quiet and busy streets that had a bike path. About 6 miles out of Cologne the bike path and the Rhine returned. What a beautiful section of bike path and entrance into the city. Beautifully landscaped pathways along the river through neighborhoods with large stately homes. 

Ferris wheel along the Rhine at the chocolate museum
Heart 0 Comment 0

The large Cologne Cathedral loomed ahead. Nearing the city center, the group spotted a chocolate museum and pulled over. The museum cost 15 euro and I was not about to part with it. I've been to Hershey. 

Scenic bridge in Cologne along the Rhine
Heart 0 Comment 0

However, it did have two redeeming factors. It had a huge chocolate shop with a wide variety of German chocolates. Several gifts are coming home with me. It also had a nice coffee shop where I enjoyed a cold cucumber and ginger spritzer with ice! Those who have traveled in Europe know that ice in a drink is a rarity. 

Lunch kolsch replacing the Pilsner
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was only a little more than a mile past the chocolate museum that the group turned off and headed to our hotel. Google Maps did a super job, and we found ourselves at the door of Hotel Coellner Hof. The luggage had not been transported to the hotel yet. After a quick refresh, the group headed out to lunch. 

Europeans embrace flowers so much more than Americans
Heart 0 Comment 0

I used Google to find a nearby restaurant with good reviews. We settled on St. Angelo Trattoria and Bar. It was an unbelievably good Italian restaurant that was family run with super staff. The food was so reasonable. My spaghetti puttanesca and a Kolsch was only 12 euro. Yes, I am now on a Kolsch kick and no longer a Pilsner drinker. 

Cologne cathedral
Heart 1 Comment 0

Returning to the hotel, showering, and taking a rest, I headed out for the evening on a walk with my friends to the Cologne cathedral. It was a very pleasant 10 to 15-minute walk along an avenue of shops and restaurants. 

Tomorrow is a day off the bike and the day to tour Cologne. The cathedral is at the top of the list.

Today's Trivia

Germany ranks second in the world only to Switzerland in annual chocolate consumption. This is obvious on a visit to a German grocery store where you will find an impressive assortment of chocolates of all kinds.

Sidewalk chalk artist at the cathedral plaza
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 29 miles (47 km)
Total: 29 miles (47 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0