Day 10: St. Goar - Koblenz - 22 miles - Rhineland adventure with friends - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2023

Day 10: St. Goar - Koblenz - 22 miles

Winding along the Rhine on a spectacular (and hot) day

The the sweeping curving Rhine as it heads north from St. Gar
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was no problem finding the Rhine cycle path from Hotel Landsknecht. It sat on the path. I turned north and began pedaling on the west side of the Rhine. That would be the routine for the day, no ferry or bridges.

The day was one with fewer villages and more natural beauty. The pattern of mountaintop castles with vineyards cascading down the hillside continued.

Boppard marketplatz
Heart 0 Comment 0

Late morning, I pedaled into Boppard, a very quaint village. It had the normal mix in the marketplatz; fountain, church, bakery, shops, and several sidewalk cafes. It was alive with many cyclists. I mentioned in a prior post that this particular section of the Rhine is an extremely popular destination for cyclists.

E-trikes with teardrop trailers
Heart 1 Comment 0

Parked in the marketplatz were two recumbent trikes that were unique. They were towing small teardrop trailers. The trikes were tricked out to the max with two batteries. The weight of the trailer must have made this quite a rig to pedal. I am sure the batteries were a necessity.

The view looking east across the Rhine near Boppard
Heart 0 Comment 0

I cycled into Koblenz in the heat of the day, mid-nineties. The good news was that Google Maps flawlessly took me to the front door of Hotel Hammer. I tucked the bike away in their storage shed and headed to the room. I turned on the air conditioning and took a shower before heading out to lunch at a nearby Balkan restaurant. I wasn't going far in the oppressive heat.

Had to share this shot of a souvenir shop in Boppard
Heart 1 Comment 0

I joined my colleagues for dinner later in the evening on an outdoor patio. A sudden rain drenched the patio as we scurried for cover to eat our meals. The rain drove down the temperature, but the humidity lingered.

Tomorrow I am off to Bad Goldenberg as I continue my path north to Cologne.

Today's Trivia

 The Mody bicycle caravanby Rösrath, Germany-based ModyPlast has created a compact caravan that can be hauled behind a bicycle. The makers have kept the teardrop camper’s weight to a minimum. Pulling it behind an electric bicycle is going to be a more practical option, and Mody is made for that kind of road adventure. 

These dudes are not traveling light
Heart 1 Comment 1
Al BurnardNo roof mounted AC unit :)
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
It needs to have silideouts
Heart 1 Comment 1
Al BurnardThe trailer has disc brakes! The bike must have an electronic controller. Interesting. I still prefer hotels!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 22 miles (35 km)
Total: 91 miles (146 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0