Which bike?: Bikes in the Garage, or Garage on the Bikes - The Reunion Ride - CycleBlaze

Which bike?: Bikes in the Garage, or Garage on the Bikes

The glut of choice extends to the question of which bike to take.

I have a few bikes in the garage, but before we get to them, a bit of whimsy.

These creations (pictured below) have the garage, albeit a small one, on the bike. They aren't mine of course. Far too clever. They seem to belong to Kevin Cyr and I can see the appeal to anyone who abhors sleeping on the hard, cold ground .

The comfort option. Not as aerodynamic as some would prefer. Drawing/photo Credit: Kevin Cyr
Heart 0 Comment 0
The steps are a nice touch. Details count. Drawing/photo Credit: Kevin Cyr
Heart 0 Comment 0

My real choices are one of three:

-A heavy duty Thorn Sherpa expedition bike which I won't be taking.

-A folding Bike Friday New World Tourist which I probably will take.

-Or my new Thorn Audax light tourer/commuter which I'd really like to take.

Which bike will go will in part be determined how I can get the bike home. If I'm flying/bussing home, then the folding bike is best.

If I can arrange a lift for the bike then the Audax will be the choice.

This is yet to be worked out.

One of these will be the ride for this short, fast tour:

The newish, light tourer/commuter ready to ride. If I can find a lift back home for it at ride's end, this is the bike I'll take. It's light, quick and comfortable.And as all middle-aged male cyclists know, because it is red, it goes 25% faster than my other bikes.This is the bike I use for cycle commuting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Should I need to transport the bike home by plane and bus, I'll take the Bike Friday. It is a few kilograms heavier and slightly slower than the the red Thorn Audax, but the difference is minimal.It is also a superbly comfortable bike. I've ridden up to 140km in a day on it fully loaded, and even managed a 210km day with it unloaded.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0