Spring is almost here - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2022

Spring is almost here

And with it, a change in training tactics

THIS PAST WEEKEND NOTWITHSTANDING, there are definite signs that spring is arriving in my area.  The temperature will rise from 16ºF, where it was on Sunday morning, to the low 60s this afternoon and the mid-70's by the end of the week.  The snowdrops and crocuses are up, there's noticeable swelling in the buds on the weeping cherry tree, and songbirds have begun to return.

With this change comes increased opportunity for more frequent training rides, which have been in the plan all along but are now likely to take a form that differs from my original notion.  I had thought to do all of them  on my touring bike and with full gear, thereby providing the best simulation of life on the road.  But, after consulting with a wiser, more experienced rider that has changed.

The new plan is to try to ride at least three, and preferably four or five times every week, going at least 30 miles each ride but preferably more like 40 and sometimes 50 (trying to get at least one 50 miler every week).  Rather that lugging all of my gear, I'll switch to doing most rides on my road bike, and perhaps exerting myself a bit more to maintain a pace that is more sprightly than I expect to maintain when on the loaded touring bike.  It won't be anything like an aggressive, competition-oriented pace or training regimen, but definitely not the pokey, stop-and-smell-the-flowers pace that I've adopted on my previous rides either.

Benched, or at least relegated to platooning until it's go-time.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Ready to roll. Weighs maybe 1/4 what the loaded tourer does, and a waaaaaaaayyyyyyyy sportier ride. I love riding this bike.
Heart 0 Comment 0

To further the training, I've booked myself onto the Florida Bicycle Safari the second week in April.  That will give me an opportunity for six consecutive riding days, where riding really is the primary thing on each day's agenda and not just one among several.  I'll sleep in my tent but will not bother with cooking, as prepared, furnished meals are included in the tour price tag.  And, the tour format is such that not everyday is a travel day: I'll only have to set up and take down camp twice, not every day.

Most of my rides will still start and end in my own driveway, but the odd excursion to other starting points and areas in the region will provide what I expect will be some much-needed variety.  Whether I ride alone or with friends remains to be seen; it'll likely be a mix of each.

Perhaps once every week or two I'll trot the tourer out for a "how am I making out" calibration, but it's going to spend more time indoors and less on the road that I thought back in December and January.  And that's okay.

I've also had the serendipitous realization that it will be possible to combine cycling with paddling.  The Eastern Shore of Maryland features both low-traffic and nearly dead-flat roads that are suitable for my wife to join me on her e-bike, as well as scads of little streams, creeks, coves, inlets, and whatnot on and around the Chesapeake Bay proper.  Since we're looking into acquiring a tandem kayak, the opportunity would exist to make multi-day getaway mini-vacations that combine the two forms of recreation.  That's a win-win combination if ever I heard of one.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0