My best ride so far - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

March 7, 2022

My best ride so far

The trend is toward "hopeful"

THE THEME OF TODAY'S RIDE could be "solitude", although it was punctuated with four pleasant interpersonal exchanges.  There was an unexpected opportunity to talk about kayaks and gear, with someone who (presumably) knows his subject.  There was a great bit of chitchat with the pleasant lady at the pizza joint where I had lunch.  My new friend "The Change Lady" was glad to receive $5 in change, and to provide a $5 bill in exchange.  And there was the very enjoyable conversation with a lady walking in her neighborhood.

All of this took place against a backdrop that includes both uber-suburban parts of Montgomery County, and its historical roots in the world of agriculture and trade.

Today's route featured busy suburban streets bookending many miles of rural lanes and byways.
Heart 0 Comment 0

By the most direct route, Poolesville lies about 18 miles west of home.  Since the wind was blowing at 12-15 mph from the SW with gusts of 20 or more, it seemed prudent to take the direct route outbound and the less direct, hillier, longer route back so that I would have a tailwind.  And wouldn't you know it: that's how it worked out.

The ride out to Poolesville was "utilitarian" and, although generally pleasant enough (once I got free of the immediate belt of suburban sprawl) it was also largely unremarkable.  I do enjoy making the transition into the agricultural reserve area, which happens at about the 10 mile mark.

On arriving in Poolesville I headed for my usual mealtime haunt, Bassett's Family Restaurant.  This venerable (and cyclist-friendly) restaurant has been a favorite of mine for decades.  I was disappointed today, though: evidently they are closed on Mondays and Tuesdays and besides, it appears they are doing significant renovation to the interior so it may be a while before they reopen at all.

Oh well, so be it.  There are other places, other alternatives.  As I was cruising back down the main thoroughfare I chanced upon a newly-opened place; it's a combination farm store and kayak / gear distributor.  An obvious combination, and one that everyone else has too, right?

Since I am considering getting a kayak, this seemed the perfect opportunity to stop and browse.  The only snag in that plan was... they're closed Mondays and Tuesdays.  Oh well, I could at least peer in through the window.

As I was window-shopping someone in the store noticed, and very obligingly opened up to let me in.  I explained what I was doing, and the young man gave me a few tips and some advice.  He is obviously proud of the store (both the kayak part and the farm store part) and I wish him  much success.

Back on the bike, it was a short hop to a local pizza place.  Being a bit hungry I ordered two slices of pepperoni; the energetic and friendly woman behind the till warned me they were big slices and that I might want to reconsider.  I thanked her and scaled back to one slice, which was not only the right amount but also very tasty to boot.  As I ate, a number of what I took to be regulars drifted in and placed or picked up orders.  It's evident that this business is a valued part of the community, and it made me feel good to be a small part of it, if only briefly.

Leaving town and heading for the Potomac gave me several options; I elected to take one I haven't traveled in years, rather than retracing a part of the route I rode last week.  It was magnificent in its solitude, and I was glad to have made the choice I did.

Hughes Road south of Poolesville is the definitive "country lane": farm fields and woodlots, almost no traffic. Wander at your own pace, and let your mind wander too.
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was another choice to be made, near the end of Hughes: continue all the way down to River Road and repeat part of last week's ride, or break off a little earlier and follow Sugarland Road to where it meets Montevideo.  Although Montevideo was also part of last week's ride I had covered it in the opposite direction.  I've ridden it often enough that there's not much new to notice going either way but no matter: it's a pleasant place to be (as long as you have a working granny gear as you climb away from Seneca Creek).

There's a point where Sugarland makes a 90 degree turn; at that corner sits an historic church.  It seemed a good opportunity for a small break and some photos.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Magnificent in its solitude.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another reminder that Maryland's, and Montgomery County's, past includes slavery. To those who know where to look and care to do so, the evidence is all around us.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The roll of the Honored Dead, or at least those whose names are remembered. There are doubtless many others who perished in anonymity or obscurity, and whose memory is now lost forever. Although my family's name appears in the list, it's a common enough one and as far as I know no connection or relation exists.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Sometimes, though, memories can be spurred and rekindled. This little sign stands in one corner of the churchyard, near the road and right against the tree line.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A rather modest grave marker, and easily overlooked or mistaken for something else.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After a few moments of consideration and reflection, it was time to push on.  Continuing along Sugarland Road I arrived at a site where for many years there was an impressive array of amateur radio antenna towers.  Several years ago there was a yard-sign campaign to "Remove the Towers" and evidently it succeeded: the towers and the antennas they supported are gone.  Sad, really, considering that the place was way out in the country.  It's possible, of course, that the place simply changed hands and the new owners had no interest in the towers or antennas; I hope it's that and not caving to pressure that caused their disappearance.

A few miles farther on I stopped for another break at the Poole General Store.  I'll let the signs and photos tell the story.

Worth noting: right across the intersection of Old River and River Roads, you find Tschiffley Mill Road. There are many more examples of long-established family names still lingering in the area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The store itself is still open but I don't think they carry snacks and drinks for cyclists any longer. They used to but I think they've stopped.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's something you don't see every day in suburbia.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From here, it was onward to my final stop before home.  I had planned a last pause at the country convenience store where I've been exchanging coins for paper money.  They were glad to see me once again, and we made the now-customary exchange.  I made sure I had enough extra to also purchase a bottle of sports drink, without having to immediately cut into the change I had just delivered.

It's about ten miles from that store to home.  I was very, very glad of the tailwind since there's a lot more "up" than "down" in that stretch.  Along the way, once I had firmly reentered suburbia, I rode about 150 yards at a walking pace, chatting with a woman who had bid me Good Afternoon and asked about the rig.  "Are you carrying extra weight for training, or are you going camping?"  "Yes I am."  I gave the usual thumbnail overview of my plan and received her blessing and best wishes for a safe and pleasant journey.

With that, the final few miles to home rolled past under my wheels, and I pulled into the driveway about five minutes before a light drizzle began.  Perfect timing, and a wonderful ride.  My back didn't act up, I'm not utterly spent and shattered, I had no flats (the new front tire makes an interesting little "humming" noise) or mechanical incidents, and I now know for certain I will take my regular bike shoes on the trip rather than my bike sandals.

41.36 miles, 5:44 total time, 4:03 riding time.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0