A shortened ride - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

March 2, 2022

A shortened ride

But still enjoyable

THE COUPLE ON THE TANDEM slowed to check that I was alright and had everything I needed.  "I think so" I replied from my roadside perch atop an irrigation pipe, "but you could come back in an hour or two to check.  If I'm still here, you'll know I was wrong."

It's the nature of life to throw in unexpected, unanticipated events that aren't reflected in the plan for the day.  In the world of bicycling, one of the most common of these is the flat tire.  They can be minimally disruptive, or a major happening.  Today they were more at the latter end of that scale.

At the moment of my encounter with the tandem, I was futzing with the front wheel, trying for the third time in seven miles to find the reason it kept going flat.  Although there was a hole in the tread, there was no obvious foreign material projecting through the inside of the tire casing nor was it obvious that the tire structure itself was damaged at that spot.  

The circle marks the spot where I think the problem lies.
Heart 0 Comment 0
From the outside it doesn't look so bad...
Heart 0 Comment 0
... in fact, that same tire has another spot that looks much worse. But I don't think this was the cause.
Heart 0 Comment 0

The pinholes also loosely correlated with a spot on the rim where the rim tape had shifted position, partially exposing the hole for the spoke head, but they weren't on the underside surface of the tube.  Nevertheless, I'll be replacing that rim strip as soon as the replacement materials arrive.

Up until the moment of the first flat, it had been a glorious ride.  Although I generally do rides directly from home, I had decided to opt for a change of scenery.  The western part of Montgomery County Maryland is designated as an "agricultural reserve", although there is a distressing and disturbing creep of development in areas that, 30 years ago when I first began riding out that way, were really still working farms.  

This was the route I planned to ride.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This was what I ended up actually doing: cut off about 9 miles of the northern part of the plan.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Such is the nature of things, that they would eventually succumb to the twin economic pressures of being a costly business with razor-thin margins and huge uncertainties, coupled with the inevitable rise in land values as the DC metro area creeps outward.  But there are still miles and miles of lightly-used roads that make for excellent cycling.

Sugarland Road is a so-called "politician's road" or "lawyer's road": one paved lane with crushed-stone shoulders (now paved over). This type of road existed to give circuit-riding officials easier access to their rural clients and constituents. This is one of the few remaining examples in the county.
Heart 0 Comment 0
White Ground Road is simply idyllic. It parallels Seneca Creek for a few miles, and is a marvelous refuge from traffic.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Up until I stopped to have a look at the Boyds Negro School (link goes to a YouTube video about the school and the general history of the area, featuring former students), there had been no hint of brewing trouble.

The Boyds Negro School (operated from 1896 to 1936) is a sad reminder that segregation was alive and well, close to home.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

But, as I made to head back to the road itself (I had walked the bike right up to lean it against the school building) I realized the front tire had gone flat.  Okay no big deal, and at least it's the front tire and not the back.

It took a few minutes but I eventually got everything sorted out.  Or so I thought.  It quickly became apparent that I had not.  It was also apparent that I've about exhausted the supply of self-adhesive "get-me-home" patches that I keep with the bike, so I'll need to order some more.  What had started as a momentary nuisance and irritation had now escalated to a cause for caution and continued vigilance.

But still, no real worries.  I knew I had a supply of additional tubes so, if the patches failed to hold I could put in a fresh tube and all would be well.  Or would be, if the tubes were the right type.  That wheel has a rim drilled to fit Presta valve tubes, and at least one of my backup tubes had a Schraeder valve.  So my options were at least a bit more limited than I thought at first.

The other consideration was my back.  The day after my last ride, a week ago, I experienced the most incredible, agonizing back spasms I've ever had.  They were of the knee-buckling, stabbing pain variety and extended from my lower back around to my sides and across the tops of my hips.  Although twisting wasn't a major issue, anything that involved bending, hinging, stooping, or straightening was.  And that included simple things like adjusting my posture or balancing while walking.

That experience returned, although thankfully at a much lower level, as I was finishing up with the tube change.  I had found earlier that lying on my back on a firm surface seemed to provide the greatest amount of relief, so I laid out on the top step of the school for a few minutes and contemplated life.

Eventually things quieted down to the point where I could venture forth to continue the ride.  But with the twin issues of a dicey front tire and a questionable back, plus a much lengthier pause than planned, it began to seem like a good idea, or at least a prudent one, to cut the ride short.  And so I did.

Since this is an area I know well it wasn't difficult to construct the abbreviated route, and the change afforded me the opportunity to ride a couple roads I seldom travel.  I didn't mind at all.

The final front tire indignity happened just a few miles from the end of the ride, and a couple minutes after the tandem couple had materialized from nowhere in my rearview mirror, overtaken me, and dropped me like a bad habit.  A lone utility pole provided a convenient support against which to lean the bike, and the irrigation pipe kept me from having to sit directly on the ground although it was somewhat lacking in the comfort department.

While I sat fiddling, the tandem couple returned, headed in the opposite direction after (I'm suspecting) turning around at the point where the road we were on terminates at the intersection with a busier highway.  I hope they didn't actually come back to check on me later.

Having got the issue sorted, again, and having stretched my back (again) I made my way slowly back to my starting point without further ado.  I was glad to get there, and just as happy to have skipped nine planned miles in the name of prudence.  They'll still be there, when I return another day. 

About 29.6 miles total.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0