0711 - 0712 Waiting... - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 11, 2022 to July 12, 2022

0711 - 0712 Waiting...

Hanging loose in Cambridge ID

WITH LUCK, my tires should arrive by FedEx today, enabling me to get back on the road by tomorrow.  I'm now behind "schedule" though, so I'll need to change or cancel my campground reservations at Powell USFS Campground.  I was planning to get there this Friday but it looks like Monday or Tuesday will be more realistic.

The pause has given me the opportunity to reconsider the back-to-back long days in my original itinerary.  I've already found a way to break the really long day (88 miles, NO services along the way) into 50 and 38 miles over two days.

Now I'm looking at finding ways to break the previous day, scheduled at over 70 miles, into two pieces.  Once I've got that sorted out I'll know what I need to do with the Powell reservation and then the West Yellowstone hotel and Yellowstone campground reservations.  (I'm thinking to cancel the Yellowstone campsites and trust to luck that there will be space in the hiker/biker areas.)

In the meantime, today (Tuesday 12 July) will be another rest day.  I've got the laundry going, so I'll pull out tomorrow with fresh clean clothes.  The surplus laundry soap I bought (the smallest I could get was a bottle sized for six loads) has been given to the man who is the owner / chef / busboy / bartender / dishwasher at the only restaurant in town (Chinese, which suits me fine).  

I had that opportunity because when I came into the laundry room, his clothes were already in the washers.  I was puzzled about the empty 20 pound rice bag sitting on the dryer, until he came in to transfer from washers to dryer, then all became clear.

Last night at dinner, I shared a table with a lonely man who is re-emerging into the world after two years in isolation.  He's a widower, and his dog has also died, so he's down to a pet chicken.  (A red tailed hawk took the other chicken, a while back).

Dan has led an interesting, full life.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Hearing his story: retired Air Force weapons tech, former Oakland PD parole officer (there are some horror stories there), widower, sometime carpet cleaner, sometime dry cleaner, now ceramics artist, makes me once again realize what great good fortune I've had and what an easy life.

He was grateful to meet someone with a "normal" view of the world, after spending too many years dealing with the lowest strata of society.  I can't imagine everything he's had to deal with; some of what he shared is the stuff of gritty Hollywood movies and television scripts, except it's real.

In the minor irritation / potentially worrisome issue department, I've managed to once again crack the screen on my phone.  So far there's no impact on the phone's usability or performance but the crack is growing.  I've already had to replace the screen once, now I'll have to get it done again.

Words to live by.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I'm using the Ride With GPS app as my primary navigation tool, although I did take the precaution of also downloading every day's route to my Garmin as a backup.  Being without the phone, though, would dramatically limit my ability to post updates here, stay in contact with home, and generally live the modern-day electronically-connected life to which I've grown accustomed.  Here's hoping the phone doesn't give up the ghost entirely, but if there should be another long hiatus between updates you'll have one possible explanation as to why.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 8
Scott AndersonI’m so sorry about your terrible luck with your tires, Keith. Also astonished - we’ve been riding them on our BF’s ever since 2009 and have never had anything remotely like this. It must be a manufacturing defect. Who did you buy them from? You should see if you can get a free replacement.

Also, sorry if I led you astray in recommending you not carry a spare I your Forum post. I should have recommended that you not carry a spare unless you’re going to need one.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Scott AndersonI got them from The Hostel Shoppe in Stevens Point, WI over the winter.

I cant really blame Schwalbe for the sharp gravel that lodges in the treads, I think, and certainly not the Hostel Shoppe.

I can only *surmise* about the manufacturing defect in the bead failure, and the tire's already in the trash so there's no evidence available to support my claim.

Oh well it's only time and that I have plenty of. I'm in the process of rearranging my various reservations and creating a selection of shorter, less taxing riding days into the bargain. So that in and of itself may turn out to be an unexpected benefit an virtue of the enforced layover.

Perhaps it's a subtle message from the bicycling gods, telling me my ego was bigger than my body could have handled.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Kelly IniguezI killed a phone in the rain. I didn't even consider that electronics don't like to get wet. I was pulling my phone out willy nilly - then, guess what? It died! We bought a new phone in the USA - a cheap Walmart phone. It worked until we crossed into Canada, and then never worked again, until we crossed back to the USA.

Jacinto dropped his phone in the gravel on Day 2 of our border to border trip. The bottom half of the screen quit functioning.

In both cases, we could not get a phone shipped to a motel. I can't say I blame TMobile.

But, the end of that story is that we now carry an old phone, just in case. It's been riding around for six weeks now.

We've had two big climbing days in a row. I'm glad we don't have three! I think the part that really killed me was climbing in the hot sun. Today's climb was overcast and cooler. I did much better. Breaking up those long days is a good idea. This is supposed to be fun!

Oh - speaking of spare tires. Oren bought a 590 tire in Moab. He didn't know the story about 559 vs 590. In the meanwhile, we've given up looking at shops for an appropriate tire. I've had one shipped to my aunt's house a couple of days down the road. It's probably not necessary at this point, we are ten riding days from the end - but, you never know!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
John PickettHang in there. We keep running into signs that Keith was here. FWIW Janet remembered you
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsAs long as the signs are not of the "WANTED: Dead or Alive (Preferably DEAD)" variety...
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Kelly IniguezMy phone will go in the handlebar bag at the first sign of rain.

I know the tires I received today will fit because they were the ones I took off to put the brand new ones on, before leaving home three weeks ago.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Gretchen CarlsonCheering for you! Good for you for "rubbing shoulders" with strangers who become friends and leave their fingerprints on your heart. Personally, the impact and encouragement of others have often kept me going! Go Keith!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith AdamsTo Gretchen CarlsonHi Gretchen-

One of the best things about bike touring is meeting people. You meet all sorts, in any variety of situations. So far I'd say it's been 100 percent positive.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago