0712 - End of the wait - Rejuvenation? Or Last Hurrah? - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2022

0712 - End of the wait

Back at it in the morning

MY TIRES ARRIVED on schedule despite a minor addressing glitch that sent them to a private residence at 240 N instead of the motel at 240 S.  One virtue of small towns is that such mistakes are easy to correct.  Nick, the hotel owner, drove the four blocks to the other end of town, checked with the homeowner, and presto!  Package retrieved.  

I cannot say enough nice things about Nick and Makenzie, the owner / operators of the Frontier Motel, nor of Amber who sees to front desk during the day.  They have all been fabulously helpful, friendly, and supportive.

Makenzie, Amber, and Nick of the Frontier Motel and RV deserve massive kudos. Thanks to you all!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Amber has already dug in doing research, trying to track down the unknown-to-me donor of the tire that saved me miles of walking and an uncertain outcome Sunday when I was stranded on the Weiser River Trail.  When, not if, she is successful I hope the tire will find its way back to the rightful owner, who generously provided it.

I thoroughly enjoyed meeting Li and eating dinner at his restaurant for three nights running.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Before I received the tires, and while I've been waiting today I got the laundry done, met and chatted with Dennis and Vanessa, a westbound couple who ride at night to avoid heat and traffic, and saw the arrival of a father / son duo also riding west.

 Dennis and Vanessa and I had a good long dip in the motel pool while we talked bikes, tires, and touring.  Dennis did the TransAm back in 2010, but this is Vanessa's first time across.  (I thought I had a photo but evidently I had a brain fart instead.)  [Update 20220715: I knew I had a photo.  Somehow my pictures are getting filed in some place unexpected, by the camera.  I'll have to try to work that out sometime, but maybe no time soon.]

Vanessa and Dennis.
Heart 0 Comment 0

With temperatures pushing 100 degrees, the pool was especially welcome.  I may take a second plunge this evening.

I expect to be unable to post an update tomorrow.  I'll be at a Forest Service campground between settlements and doubt there will be cell service.  Don't call out the National Guard to look for me, just yet.

Two tires received from home, one received through the kindness of a stranger. I really hope it finds its way back to the generous (and unknown to me) donor.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The original rear tire is back in service, and I'm packing a spare that I hope will never be more than unneeded dead weight.
Heart 6 Comment 0
Western towns seem to feel compelled to report their elevation.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Good night everyone.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 7
Comment on this entry Comment 1
Kelly IniguezHave a great ride!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago