The Erie Canal - Heading South For a Promise of A Warmer Winter - CycleBlaze

June 27, 2019

The Erie Canal

Williamson to Brighton

We had a very nice coffee and breakfast with Jim and Carol this morning. Carol hopped on my ebike and took a spin. Then we loaded up and headed for Palmyra and the Erie Canal!
Heart 1 Comment 0
On the way we passed this stone farm house. Joseph Smith worked here on the farm and wrote down inspired words that became the Book Of Mormon!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Crossing the canal before we turn onto it
Heart 1 Comment 0
Beautiful path
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Most of today was the hardpack path and it was smooth and quiet and nice
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
An old iron bridge. the canal used to run under it.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I walked up it to explore
Heart 1 Comment 0
Big old planks of wood for the floor of the bridge
Heart 1 Comment 0
Spillway?
Heart 1 Comment 0
Some of the path is paved
Heart 1 Comment 0
A working lock in Macedonia
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Back to dirt
Heart 1 Comment 0
There has been alot of rain here and the growth is taller than me!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
Sitting along the canal in Pittsford. I stopped at the bike shop and had my shifting adjusted. I bought a new helmet. My old one won't even stay on my head anymore! Maybe my head shrank!
Heart 1 Comment 0
We are at an AirBnB tonight just outside of Rochester. Michelle just got home from cycling in Scottland! We rode up to the supermarket to get some dinner first and it was an extra six miles. It was hot out and we were glad to get here and take a shower and cool off!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Our Lake Erie Connector map arrived today at Carol and Jim's so she is bringing it to me in the morning on her way to a hike! That was a close one!

Today's ride: 46 miles (74 km)
Total: 8,988 miles (14,465 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0