Fitting the Racks! - Heading South For a Promise of A Warmer Winter - CycleBlaze

September 26, 2018

Fitting the Racks!

Maintenance Continues

True to her word, Savannah expedited our racks and they arrived today! We set up our space and got to work. They are on! Step had to figure a solution for his front light and we made a run to the hardware for some real nuts, washers and bolts so the racks don't move! The ones that came with the racks were pretty soft and cheap. 

Got it done!
Heart 2 Comment 0
While Step was in getting stuff in the hardware store, I decided to shift the platform back more toward the bike so it doesn't extend forward over the tire.
Heart 1 Comment 2
Steve Miller/GrampiesThis is the first time I have seen a front rack mounted where there are suspension forks. It seems all based on straps around the forks, which makes sense. The water bottle holder is also pretty skookum, and its impressive that you managed to fit both holder and rack on!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet Anspach-RickeyWhere there's a will, there's a way! Yes, the straps rachet onto the fork. It's the Thule Tour Rack and Side Rails. You have to get the side rails if you have bags other than Thule. They (the side rails) go on very easily. The rack is trickier to get on but if you watch a few You Tubes you can figure it out. We read the reviews where we found out about the soft bolts allowing slippage of the adjustable stays on the aluminum vertical bars of the rack.

will be interesting to see how it rides with the bike all loaded up!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
She's ready to roll
Heart 2 Comment 0

Tomorrow, Sheri and Emma arrive. Emma has a warm shower host lined up in Seaside for Friday night! We are ready!

Today's ride: 5 miles (8 km)
Total: 214 miles (344 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 6
Christopher SusiHi Jani and Steve,

I see you went with the Thule, good call. They look great . Sounded like they went on pretty well. Enjoying your journal, keep up the great posts.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet Anspach-RickeyConsidering the directions were just pictures we did amazing! Thank goodness for You Tube! Also I enjoy puzzles and Stephen is so handy with knowing what to do when the parts are not up to standard. Emma and Sheri come today. Oh boy!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Nancy GrahamHello Jani and Steve,

My partner and I recently (well, now almost a year ago!) got BULLS e-bikes. We will most likely take some kind of tour soon, and I find your front rack very interesting. With the front Shocks, I am not sure how one attaches a rack. Do you have shocks on the front of your bikes? Any info you can give me will be helpful.
Another question — you do not write anything about charging your battery. Have you had easy access to do that daily?

Thank you, I am very much enjoying your journal.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet Anspach-RickeyHi Nancy,
One of the fellows at the bike shop told us about these Thule Tour Racks! Yes, I have shocks on the front of my Bulls. The rack attches with straps that rachet tight on the forks below where the shocks are. We watched the You Tubes and read the reveiws and that really helped. You will see later in the journal where I have my bike plugged in at a grocery store with an outside outlet. The bikes easily go 50 miles without a chage but if we are doing alot of climbing, we stop and charge them where we eat lunch just for safe measure. It is never a problem. People are so used to charging computers and phones, it's just another device that needs plugging in! Most of the time we just charge the bikes at night when we arrive at our destination! We charge our helmet lights, phones, and tablets too!
Just let me know if you have any other questions. We LOVE touring with our ebikes.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Nancy GrahamTo Janet Anspach-RickeyThank you so much for the info. Your charging regime is exactly as I have pictured it. And in fact I keep my eyes open on my daily rides for ideas of where there may be plug ins. I have spotted quite a few ideas.
The rack is very interesting to me. My partner has gone with a travois for carrying gear and likes that a lot. That may mean that my carrying capacity will not require front racks ;’-) But maybe!

Thanks again.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Janet Anspach-RickeyThe racks are working out extremely well. Today we grocery shopped for all four of us for a two day layover in Charleston and we filled our bags and they were fine. I'm also bungeeing stuff to the front rack flat top. Very handy. I don't know what a travois is! I'll have to look it up.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago