The Good, the Bad but not Ugly Hike in Bassano - An Italian Spring, 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 9, 2023

The Good, the Bad but not Ugly Hike in Bassano

When the hike was good it was very, very good but when it was bad, it was horrid!  I created this loop on my own so it would get to the highest point and pass many interesting places.  The climbing part was steep but had varied and interesting paths to follow.  After getting to the top I had a problem finding the path to continue the loop down so I found a walkable road and hoped it would take me back.  Instead, I ended back in the same spot after adding a mile and a half distance.  I looked closely, and found it this time.  The first time, I was distracted by a shepherd and his goats.  Soon after heading down, the path became hard to follow and was going down very steeply on  rocky, slippery path.  I couldn’t use my gps to navigate but I did find some trail markers that helped but were sometimes hard to spot.  The only thing that saved me from tumbling down the steep trail was a few trees and big rocks along the way I could grab on to!  But I did slide on my butt a few places.  I don’t remember having a scarier descent!  I was elated when I finally made it down and was looking forward to finding gelato on the way back.  Unfortunately, I didn’t find any but I made it back!  Below is a photo I took before heading down. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

Slideshow from Hike

Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Jeanna & Kerry SmithThat sounds really scary to me, Rachel. I'm glad that you made it back down safely. You are a brave adventurer!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Rachael AndersonTo Jeanna & Kerry SmithThanks.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Suzanne GibsonThat was so scary! Glad you got pictures anyway!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago