In Galatina: Rachael’s walk in the countryside - An Italian Spring, 2023 - CycleBlaze

April 11, 2023

In Galatina: Rachael’s walk in the countryside

We arrived in Galatina after all the grocery stores were closed so  I had to go shopping for breakfast and lunch supplies at 8 am the next morning.  Unfortunately, the store was in chaos because the staff had to restock the shelf’s after the Easter break!  I finally found the food I needed and headed back to the apartment but first stopped at a bakery to get Scott some fresh croissants.  I had difficulty finding the apartment again but finally found it.  When I got upstairs and started unpacking the groceries, I realized I was missing a bag that contained mostly lunch stuff for Scott.  I headed back out looking for it but never found it.  Not a good way to start the day but we did have breakfast fixings.

By the time we finished breakfast we looked at the weather forecast and it predicted very strong winds.  I knew I wanted to get outside so I took off on a long walk.  I had a very strong headwind for at least 4 miles but fortunately, I knew it would be better on the way back so I persevered.  Below are photos from my walk.  I was so glad that I persevered.  I did have one other issue when I realized I didn’t have food or water.  I then found the most direct way back to a cafe and stopped there for a great sandwich and water.  Unfortunately, I still had a mile and half to walk to get back to our place and it as on a very busy road but I made it.

Below are photos from the walk.  There were a lot of interesting old structures and the flowers and blooming trees were incredible.  

Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 5 Comment 1
Keith AdamsRedbuds! Such pretty spring foliage.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 1
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 2
Rachel and Patrick HugensItaly grows the biggest cactus! Go figure
R
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Rachael AndersonIt is amazing! The cactus are larger here than in Arizona!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 0
Heart 3 Comment 1
Janice BranhamThe greens and gold's are really glowing there. Very striking.
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 4 Comment 0
This was one of the most incredible array of wildflowers I’ve ever seen. Unfortunately, my camera on the phone couldn’t capture the full beauty! The moral of the story, is don’t turn back too soon!
Heart 8 Comment 2
Kelly IniguezYou've really picked the right area at the right season for colors!

I just got back to Tucson. I was hoping to see the cacti blooming, but it looks like I'm a bit early. But, you hit it just right!
Reply to this comment
11 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0