Final Day in Beautiful Lisbon - Poking Around Europe 7.0 - CycleBlaze

October 25, 2022

Final Day in Beautiful Lisbon

Packing and Walking and That Last Gelato

What an interesting day for us, in so many ways. First up of course, was breakfast, where Keith was embarrassed beyond words. He was sure I had something to do with the embarrassing moment, but I absolutely did not!   We were enjoying our lovely breakfast in the breakfast room when this happened. 

Happy Birthday!! There was applause. My shy guy wanted the floor to open up and swallow him. I was blushing too. It was absolutely lovely. Cake for breakfast should be a thing, by the way. Delicious.
Heart 5 Comment 6
David MathersHappy Birthday 🎂 Keith and only 1 candle 🕯️ Congratulations on a successful tour…have a good trip home 🏠
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Jacquie GaudetHappy Birthday Keith from us too! Nice that both of you celebrated birthdays on tour this year.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Patrick O'HaraHappy B-day. Hope your travel home is as smooth as the icing on that cake!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Suzanne GibsonWonderful! Happy Birthday!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Keith ClassenThanks everyone for the birthday wishes. I try to get past my birthday with as little fuss as possible particularly in the advancing years.
Reply to this comment
1 year ago
Rachael AndersonTo Keith ClassenI’m with you on that but I do like it for an excuse for eating cake for breakfast!
Reply to this comment
1 year ago

We decided to face the music and pack the bikes right away. It was fairly low stress. We figured out what we need for our overnight in Vancouver and threw everything else in our respective bike boxes with the bikes. Once that was done it was time for one last explore of Lisbon, this time on foot. 

I had our boys and my beautiful daughters in law on my mind as we arrived in the busy shopping district. I also had some Euros burning a hole in my pocket, a generous gift from my friend Joy, and I finally made up my mind how to spend them too. Keith spent some of his final day being asked for opinions or standing outside various stores reading on his phone or people watching. One funny moment came in the sardine shop. I wanted to take home the best of the best for my daughters in law. I was about to pay when Keith spotted another intriguing delicacy, but I pointed out it would be considered a liquid, so couldn’t go in our carry on luggage. That is when the store employee told me that sardines are considered a liquid too. What??  I told her that really was annoying and she said not as annoying as it would have been if I had found out tomorrow at the airport. That really made me laugh because she was so right!   They also had tins of sardines that were under 100 grams, so tomorrow I will present at security with lotions and sardines in my clear plastic bag. 

We have loved our hotel, Olissippo Saldanha. Welcoming staff, all of them, great location and quiet. Note the bike lanes in the foreground.
Heart 4 Comment 0
These wedge shaped buildings are so intriguing.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Another gorgeous example. Another bike lane example too. Lisbon is cycle friendly.
Heart 4 Comment 0
It really is a hilly city.
Heart 2 Comment 0
We have really enjoyed Lisbon.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Such a beautiful day for our final day.
Heart 2 Comment 0

We ate and ate and ate. We tried several things we had been meaning to try, there was that cake for breakfast, port to sample, a last delicious gelato, pastries. It was that kind of a day. I am stuffed even as I write this.   We also discussed how relaxing it has been to have the extra days here at the start and end of the tour. We planned three nights at the beginning because we were concerned about the bikes arriving with us. Lost luggage was a huge concern when we left home. We planned the three days at the end because we wanted a day in Sintra. That all changed of course, but having these extra days to enjoy the city has been wonderful. So relaxing. 

We walked down to the water for one last look. It was so warm and sunny. It really makes it hard to leave. Throughout the city we noticed a huge police presence. I asked and it turns out there is a big champions league football game tonight, Benfica (Lisbon) against Italy. We had noticed groups of singing male football fans walking throughout the square. I suggested to Keith that the next time he is in Vancouver for a hockey game he should gather a group of fans to sing their way through downtown. He could start a trend. 

The friendly police officers who explained why they were out in force.
Heart 4 Comment 0
They were everywhere.
Heart 1 Comment 0
We felt very safe!
Heart 1 Comment 0
Still more.
Heart 1 Comment 0
They take their soccer security seriously. I guess they need to.
Heart 2 Comment 0

Shopping done we wandered back to the hotel. We have had a great evening watching the football game in the bar, with the man in reception explaining all the details. It has been great fun. We are checked in, a large taxi has been arranged and we are hoping for a smooth airport experience tomorrow. Fingers crossed. 

All kinds of conveyances here.
Heart 3 Comment 0
The planet has a car problem. Just saying. I felt sorry for these people as we walked by. It turns out there was a one day Metro strike.
Heart 3 Comment 0

Just in case you were on the edge of your seat (I was) Benfica defeated Juventis (Italy) 4 to 3. Probably because they had two new Canadian fans rooting for them. 

Rate this entry's writing Heart 8
Comment on this entry Comment 0