March 24, 2019 - A Growing Cloud of Fears - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 šŸ‡µšŸ‡¹ - CycleBlaze

March 24, 2019 - A Growing Cloud of Fears

"If you want to conquer fear, don't sit home and think about it. Go out and get busy." -- Dale Carnegie

Why the fears? I have done this a bunch of times, but here I am nervous about heading out to a country I have visited several times. I imagine that once I get going all will be well, but for the moment, it is what it is.

Time to pack things. There I was yesterday getting ready to pack the bike into its cardboard box along with the panniers and associated touring gear. The Cannondale was there and ready... and suddenly I decided to bring the Dahon Speed TR instead. Within this cloud of fear was a concern with my leg giving out in a country that does not like bikes on buses or trains. My thought was that, if required, with the Dahon I could fold it together, put it in its bag and carry it onto a train or slip it into the cargo hold of a bus or even onto a regional bus. This served to allay some of my fears.

I have the suitcase to carry the dismantled Dahon, but because this tour is point-to-point I would have to use a disposable box. What's easier than using the box I already had for a full size bike?  And that is what I did. What a dream that was. Lowered the seatpost. Removed the handlebars from the stem and tie wrapped them to the front rack. Flipped the stem down and tie-wrapped it to the frame to prevent scratching the frame. Then just taped or tied everything else to the bike. Not only was it a quick process to get the bike and gear into the box, but upon arrival in Faro, it will take me a really short time to have the bike out with the panniers and gear mounted and packed.

A few words about the Dahon. A few years back I was trying to decide between a folding bike or S&S couplers for my full size touring bike. The options were to add the couplers to my Raleigh Olympian (a bike that I loved but was coming to the realization that it always was a bit too big for me), to buy a new bike with the couplers already installed (there were limited off-the-shelf options), or, a folding bike. At the time Dahon made the Speed TR which had fenders and racks on the front and rear of the bike. I found a Speed TR for a decent price, which was about the price of the S&S couplers alone.

Since buying the Dahon I have added a Brooks Flyer saddle which takes the jolts out of the road, and just last summer I repainted it and added my own custom decals to cover the wear of the past seven or so years. I have used it locally the odd time but more importantly, I have now toured on it in Czechia on a tour with my wife, and two years ago in Istria, Croatia, on a solo tour. I have also taken it to Cuba a few times so I can escape the resort to tour the nearby countryside. It is getting used.

A question might be about its suitability for touring. It is not light, but neither are really any touring bikes. It works well mechanically and I make sure to keep it and any of my bikes properly tuned. It is comfortable now that I have the Brooks Flyer on it. My only issue is that I suppose I am a traditionalist of sorts and prefer the look of the regular diamond frame bikes. Finally, to add a bit of salt to the wound, this winter I just bought a brand new Salsa Vaya, then built up the perfect-for-me touring bike, yet it remains hanging in a basement on a hook. Not until my leg is fully healed, or I am close to home will it hit the roads for its first ride. That stings! It won't be for a while - I live where winter persists well into April, and often into May.

Anyway, tomorrow, all else being equal, I leave for Portugal.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonI sympathize with your departure jitters, Brent. We depart in two days also, and Iā€™m going through them myself. Mine seem to get worse every year. Looking forward to following along, and good luck with your achy leg!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Brent IrvineTo Scott AndersonThanks for the encouraging words. Yes, this cloud of fear has been increasing each year. I'm alright once on the ground and rolling... but not before. :(
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Steve Miller/GrampiesGood luck with the leg. Dodie can really relate to the pretrip jitters of will the damaged limb work or give you grief. Hopefully it will be just fine. We will be following along in your tire tracks from a distance.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago