March 25, 2019 - Getting there one step at a time - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 25, 2019 - Getting there one step at a time

Leaving for a cycle trip after two years without

The Dash 8 that is taking me to Toronto. If you look closely you can see my bike box on the luggage cart.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Fortunately yesterday's clouds had somewhat subsided. I was packed to go, I was ready, and my leg was not bothering me today. I also decided to give the leg a rest from training, too, just to make sure.

Knowing that I was heading out some time later in the day, I was still at loose ends for most of  the day. I was dropped at Mom and Dad's where I loaded the bike into the back of their pickup truck, and around 5:30 pm it was away down the road to Timmins where the flying would begin. First off, was to have the security guard look through the bike box - it went without a hitch, and then passed the bike to the Air Canada desk with assurances that it was checked through to Faro. Always a good thing with such a big and awkward piece. Though I had more than two hours to pass, I watched a few videos, chatted with the security fellow, and before long I was through the security check and then on board the Dash 8.

It's Getting real
Heart 1 Comment 0

Though the flight was almost empty, a friend who I had not seen in years sat beside me, so the next 90 minutes literally flew by! The connection time was a scheduled 90 minutes but ended up being a little longer. I was under the impression that I would have to go through security once again, but no, and just had to walk from the domestic gate to the International Gate E74 ... which took all of ten or fifteen minutes.

Being one who is to bed early, being up at midnight was kind of tough. I kept yawning... and to make things worse, so were the people around me! My next flight was with TAP Air Portugal on an A330 and I suppose they had less favourable slots because they are not Air Canada. Who knows.

Nevertheless, once on board I was pleased to see what were seat/beds. There was a lot of room, and yes I did have the salmon, rice and some Douro red wine, but before long, I stretched out the seat to almost flat and slept most of the flight. The one negative was that my feet were not quite level but a bit lower so I kept stretching my legs. The flight was great and at only 6-1/2 hours, was a piece of cake. It's just too bad that I have a long wait in Lisbon for my final flight to Faro.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0