March 14, 2019 - I'm at 75% - Some More Portugal: Not Just Kicking the Tires (Tour 18) - 2019 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 14, 2019

March 14, 2019 - I'm at 75%

Just over a week to go and I am about 75% certain of going. Let me explain.

After last year's slip and straining of the left calf, I have had a problem with the muscles and they just won't heal properly. Gastroc or soleus... not sure, but something somewhere in there.

Last week I finally decided to go to a private physiotherapist which had been one of the suggestions I read online from others struggling with this issue. I had to arrange the appointment around work, which was not a problem at all, and so last week, there I was at a physio in Timmins.

After checking my gait and stretching ability, the physio described a technique which to me sounded like a combination of acupuncture and Dr Ho shock therapy. Though skeptical, I told him to go ahead. A number of copper 'needles' were jabbed into my calf muscles, then he electrocuted my leg. Ok, not that bad, but still not that enjoyable. It was a yucky needle kind of feeling that left me kind of nauseous.

The physio said that there could be some residual pain, kind of like after a vigorous workout or bruising. Indeed, there was a small amount of residual pain. And then... later that day and for the next few days there was almost no pain. Looking online to research TDN, it seems there is quite a discussion about its effectiveness, and that it might be a bit of hocus pocus. At this point I am open to any options, and though in a few days, there was still some pain in the muscles, perhaps (hopefully) it was due to the stretching regimen he also prescribed.

Whatever the result, my second and likely final (at his suggestion) appointment with the physio will be tomorrow morning for some more shocking therapy.

With this therapy and my stretching, though there is some pain, it is not too bad. I am closing in on a final decision, and am 75% certain I will go. If there is too much pain, I will take the folding Dahon, so I could use buses or taxis if required; if the pain remains minimal, I will bring my proper Cannondale touring bike.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0