April 17, 2017 - Bike in Box: I have the butterflies of anticipation - A Dabble of the Douro then Leaning to Lisbon (Tour 17) - 2017 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

April 17, 2017

April 17, 2017 - Bike in Box: I have the butterflies of anticipation

Just over 24 hours to go.

The keen-eyed among you may recognize the "bike room". I have had a number of tours start from this very spot. You can even see the BOB trailer I used to cross from Istanbul to Lisbon in 2003. So, another tour begins, the packing goes much more quickly now because I have it down to an art.
Heart 0 Comment 0

This is quite a number of tours I have been on by now; yet, once I 'push that button' and buy a ticket, I start to get nervous. Excited nervous, I suppose. I have never been the sit back and relax kind of person, so I start thinking about all of the loose ends I have to tie up before going, the boxing of the bike, the finding of a bike box at the other end of the trip to come home, the weather... and the list goes on. That is just who I am!

Of course, once I get going and especially once I am on the road rolling along on my bike, all this melt away.

What the heck is this? I mean... what the HECK is this?! I mean... WHAT THE HECK IS THIS?!! Waking up to a few cm of snow? Yes, pretty. If today was Christmas. It will melt quickly, of course, but thankfully we're out of here in less than twenty-four hours.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0