The Seventeenth Tour is On: Now to confirm some details - A Dabble of the Douro then Leaning to Lisbon (Tour 17) - 2017 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 16, 2017

The Seventeenth Tour is On: Now to confirm some details

NOT sure of the exact date, locations or route, but yes, I know which bike I'm taking. Last fall I took my folding Dahon to Croatia and Slovenija. This was primarily because I flew via Lufthansa from Trieste and would have had the ridiculous fee of 100€ for the bike's return flight. No, thank you.

If this tour ends in Lisbon or Barcelona, the fee is CAD $50, since I can fly home with the very reasonable Air Canada. Consequently, I am taking my favourite and most comfy touring bike. My 1985 Raleigh Olympian.

The legend of the Rooster of Barcelos. An often-seen symbol throughout Portugal.
Heart 0 Comment 0

THIS JUST IN: Well, it seems that a Canadian Forces benefit when flying is that three bags up to 70 lb each can go as luggage. Considering that a bike in a box is well under this weight, MA's bikes will be taken to Porto and back from Lisbon under this excellent benefit. Grand total in savings: $226. I would say that this covers the booking fee I was supposed to charge!

A couple of years ago as I studied Iberian 'Velocipoenology'. After a couple of tours with the inferior folding Dahon, it is time for a tour with the SUperior non-folding, full-size, closer-to-my-heart Raleigh Olympian.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A few words about this bike. This is the bike I used on my first tour in 1986. The frame is original, but a lot of the stuff attached to the frame is brand-spanking new. It is a really heavy steel bike and was not even that expensive when i bought it, but I have toured numerous times with it, including the first in 1986, when I toured the UK.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0