Geeky Pants: What do you mean? - A Dabble of the Douro then Leaning to Lisbon (Tour 17) - 2017 🇵🇹 - CycleBlaze

March 26, 2017

Geeky Pants: What do you mean?

WELL, it would seem that generally I suddenly book flights for a cycling trip after sitting on my butt all the day long doing nothing but planning 'the next trip'.

We have before you, something a whole lot different than that. A whole lot of not sitting around doing nothing but planning. Yes, there was planning going on, but there has been a whole lot of something else going on. Activity, that is. This aforementioned activity is one favoured by many polar climates like the one in which I live.

You see, though it may be totally safe, with clean air, forests, rivers and streams, many of these beautiful landscapes are covered with snow for a good many months of the year. Generally, I moan, waiting for the summer to return so I can get back onto the bikes for a ride or two or three.

This year, however, has been different. To make the best use of all of this snow and beauty, I decided to actually put the Nordic skis onto the end of my feet - not unlike the spot where I put the pedals of the bike.

Eureka... it worked. With the generally warmish winter, I have been out almost every day since Christmas, doing laps on the local Nordic trails through the spruce, poplar and birch groves. Not only has it been beautiful, but I am maintaining some type of fitness such that I may actually be able to go the planned 47 km on the first day of this trip.

This being said, when I garb myself up for skiing, though I think I look fairly cool and sporty, others think not. You be the judge!

What do you think? As cool as a cyclist? The cycling tights work well on tours and have been great to keep me warmish during this winter's skiing.For the keened-eyed among you, yes, that is the old MEC crest. I actually bought these about twenty years ago, have taken them on many tours, and just recently had the local seamstress replace the elastic in the waist after it crumbled from old age. The longevity of these pants prove the quality of MEC's products. These were from the days of Made in Canada which is even more impressive.
Heart 0 Comment 0
One of these sessions with Alex along with me.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0