Attack of the Wire Worms! The Horror.... - Undaunted Porridge - CycleBlaze

April 1, 2018 to May 14, 2018

Attack of the Wire Worms! The Horror....

Oooohh, Fuudge! Only I didn't say "Fudge." I said THE word, the big one, the queen-mother of dirty words, the "F-dash-dash-dash" word!

Heart 4 Comment 0

We've been squeezing in training rides regularly since April 1, logging almost 300 miles. That brings my total for the year to about 575, which is pretty low for someone planning to ride across the country. But in a couple weeks we will be getting all the miles we need in. 

Inspired by my friend and fellow Hostile Actor Scott Anderson, I will attempt  to  summarize our local training rides over the past few weeks. If you don't know, Scott and Rachael are in Greece, or something like that. I've never heard of it, and you'd think by now I'd have heard something about a country named Greece. Frankly, it sounds made up. But I've never known Scott to mislead me before, so I'm giving him the benefit of the doubt on this one.  Anyway, very much inspired by Scott's recent journaling, here is my brief summary of the rides we have done:

Riverview Cemetery

We often ride a loop from our house to Sellwood, across the Sellwood Bridge and up the 450 foot hill in Riverview Cemetery. It's a good ride to get some hills in just a couple of hours.

Riverview is a beautiful place to ride thanks to gracious management that tolerates cyclists riding through. They even paint route markers.  It also seems like a nice place to spend eternity, I guess. 

Did you get your burn on, bro?
Heart 4 Comment 0
This is steeper than it looks. -Riverview Cemetery
Heart 3 Comment 1
Bruce LellmanThat's what they all say. Good thing I know it's actually true, being somewhat of a cyclist myself and having taken photos of incredibly steep roads that in the end do not look steep at all.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Heart 3 Comment 0

Neighborhood Loop

A few days ago we rode one of our regular routes, a 20 mile loop in North Portland that has some hills.   At one point Jen noticed her rear tire going flat. Ah ha!! This was a chance to test my flat-changing skills. So like Ralphie's dad in A Christmas Story, I jumped off my bike and assessed the situation. While I was assessing the situation, Jen found  a large a large wire protruding from the tire. It took about 18 minutes start to finish which isn't fast but not bad for a rear tire. 

Ohhhh fuudge.....
Heart 4 Comment 0
Heart 7 Comment 0

Our friends Bruce and Andrea invited us to their home (Hostile Actors HQ) for breakfast one day last week, and we had a great time with them and cat Pinkie in their back yard. 

Bruce reviews the menu selections with Jen
Heart 6 Comment 0
Andrea is describing how the Mason bee housing works
Heart 5 Comment 0
Pinkie
Heart 5 Comment 0

Leif Erikson Drive

Leif Erickson is one of our favorites. It's about 20 miles and 1450 feet of climbing, so we get a decent workout in while cycling on a beautiful gravel road in Forest Park free from cars. And as new retirees, we were able to go on a Monday (or was it Tuesday?- who keeps track?) and avoid the weekend crowds. 

Jen on Leif Erickson Rd. It's great on weekdays
Heart 4 Comment 0

Next: Finally on the road!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Scott AndersonGreat. Now you’ve revealed the location of the HA HQ. Bruce and Andrea are toast.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Ron SuchanekTo Scott AndersonOops! I have always struggled with covert operations.
Reply to this comment
5 years ago
Dee ForteYou need to tell me when you get here about the mason bee housing! We are inundated with mason bees at our house!
Reply to this comment
5 years ago