Day 48: Brattleboro to Burlington - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 22, 2023

Day 48: Brattleboro to Burlington

Heart 0 Comment 1
Jacquie DartWell done Peter - hope you enjoyed most of the trip and looking forward to seeing you back home. What's next on the bucket list?
Reply to this comment
9 months ago

Lots to report.  Our last big day in the saddle was bound to be noteworthy. Ninety scheduled miles and 5000 feet would place demands, and it’s not as though we came into it with fresh legs. Many of the others were anxious too, apparently. The 7.30 start group was down to just six riders as everyone else had pleaded a special case to join the 7 o’clock club.

I woke with sore legs and a sore throat. I guess this was on the cards from yesterday. That said, as illnesses go, it was pretty minor. I joined Team Ibuprofen and reconciled myself to a steady ride.

It started cold (gilet and arm warmers at 7.30). We crossed the Connecticut River from Vermont into New Hampshire, then made our way south along the eastern bank. There was heavy mist on the hills to our left. After five miles we turned eastwards, gradually climbing in little steps until we got to the only major climb of the day, of about 500ft at 20 miles. The mist cleared, leaving a cloudless sky for the rest of the day and the sun warmed us nicely. The next 15 miles comprised lots of steep little bumps of 100-200 ft, some up to 12% gradient.

It was all very beautiful, with huge white houses, covered bridges, dense woodland and hundreds of lakes, some with water lilies.  Had a delightful first stage with Mark B. He paused a mile or so before the first SAG so I pretended I’d dropped him. Nothing could have been further from the truth. 

First SAG was outside a retro diner. Went in to use the facilities and buy an iced coffee. The ladies inside wouldn’t let me pay for it.

Set off on my own, continuing over similar humps, but feeling increasingly fresh and perked up especially after the route brought us down from the hilly area along an eight mile descent into Massachusetts.  Is this my riding future?  Needing 45 miles to warm up and get my legs going? 

Second SAG was outside a Macdonalds. Too late for an egg McMuffin, so I made do with a Big Mac and another iced coffee. I’d left my bike on the lawn, where it got soaked by the sprinklers. Third time on the tour!  Fred risked life and limb to rescue it.

 From there we ended up on a busy road but soon turned off into a wooded area with lots of beautiful little villages and more ponds. This might have been commuter land for Boston as it seemed prosperous and picture postcard perfect.  I met Tom and Barry, who cycled with me for about ten miles, just for somewhere to go.  They were patient with a tired old man and excellent company.  Sadly, they’d got a hundred yards in front of me when I had to turn off, so I never got chance to say good bye and thank them. Thanks gents.

(Tom and Barry contacted me the next day via Strava.  Really pleased to have had the chance to sign off properly with them both)

The villages gradually turned into well-heeled suburbs and a final mile or so along a busy road to the hotel. There were lots of friends and relatives there to greet the riders and someone had bought us all chocolate milk. Bliss.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 3,460 miles (5,568 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 5
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Hugh MonroPeter, one of your most descriptive reports, I almost felt the suns heat warming the sky as the mist evaporated. Carry on and enjoy the final miles. You’re on the home run. Ooops, ride.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Kevin JohnsPete. It’s been great reading your daily comments, but I’m sure you are glad it’s soon time for a rest .
Enjoy the remainder of your journey, and take a bow for your efforts.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago