Day 40: Niles to Erie - Peter across the US 2023 - CycleBlaze

June 14, 2023

Day 40: Niles to Erie

Heart 0 Comment 0

The forecast was for rain to start with, getting better later.

We assembled outside the hotel, where I was getting so wet I realised I’d need an extra layer of water resistance. I scurried back to my bag to dig out another rain jacket, which I stretched on over my existing gear. A mile down the road and it was chucking down. My major concern was no longer about getting wet, but worrying whether I’d get cold because I was wet.

At that stage there was nothing else to do but dig in, to go for it. Again this involved north and east kicks, with the wind hampering the northerly ones and supporting the easterlies.

Just going to say again that it chucked down for the first hour. Numerous pee breaks and a couple of hours later I got to the first SAG, outside a Macdonalds. Took my turn in the queue. Waited behind a guy who made fulsome and audible use of the facilities only to emerge without washing his hands. Classy.  Floors were treacherously skiddy. It might be a reflection on the food we’ve been served that an egg McMuffin seemed like Michelin. Several of us made the same observation. I also had to negotiate with both the person taking the order and the person pressing the buttons that an espresso was quite a small drink.

Jazzed up with a proper coffee I made my way north. Stopped raining for half an hour before it completely threw it down. Old Testament and stair rods are only euphemisms for how much water fell out of the sky. There was no merit in trying to avoid the puddles because the road was a continuous sheet of water for ten miles. Took a central line, avoiding the inside as too lumpy and almost certainly hiding black holes masked by the reflections off the surface.

Good thing about this was that I remembered what my quads were for and leap frogged several fair weather cyclists. They, of course, got their own back as I tried to normalise my fluid balance down side turnings.

Have I mentioned the rain?  Because the other thing to note was the north-easterly wind hitting us a-quarter during this 61 mile ride north. Had to stay on the drops, although progress was helped each time we went past a wood upwind of us.

Eventually the rain stopped and I started to dry out before the route finally turned east. Lunch was at the White Turkey Diner. Washed down an unpleasantly salty Turkey sandwich with a root beer float. Felt energised so made an effort for the last 29 wind-assisted miles. Ended up speeding along with Simon. Great fun, especially as we’ve covered 390 miles in the last four days.

Rooms were not ready so we assembled in the hotel bar and drank beer. Nice supper with Barbara and Stephanie in the hotel next door.

Heart 0 Comment 0
It rained. surface water and spray off my wheels say it all.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Oakleys are for scale. Mine was the one on the left. Quite like a root beer float
Heart 0 Comment 2
Steve ParkerNever had one.
Do you think the Bike Shed could be persuaded?
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Peter RobinsonWe could try. Root beer and ice cream.
Failing that, your pud’s sorted next time you come round.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 90 miles (145 km)
Total: 2,873 miles (4,624 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 3
Hugh MonroFor a horrible moment I thought you were going to report having seen Noah the shepherd leading his animals in to his Ark. At least you managed to enjoy the last few miles with a tail wind.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Peter RobinsonTo Hugh MonroCan’t remember cycling in rain like it Hugh.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Hugh MonroTo Peter RobinsonWell done for coping with the rain’s intensity, I experienced a deluge of rain having left the York feed station heading towards Scunthorpe on my first failed attempt of the Newcastle to London ride, one you would have achieved with ease, the rain was accompanied with fork lightning and rivers of water were at least 4 inches deep. Eventually the rain stopped and the warm August air actually went a long way towards drying my gear, I didn’t make Scunthorpe though. The dreaded bonk hit me 6 miles short of the next stop. Pooh. You’re doing so well, keep it up.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago