Pre-Trip Preparations - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

Pre-Trip Preparations

With August but a few short weeks away, I've been working hard to get some serious miles in the saddle. On one particular day I decided to test my limits, and completed a 161 mile out-and-back trip from my house up the Chilliwack River Valley in British Columbia. It was epic, and I was pleased to know I could cover such a large distance.

Proof that I have in fact ridden to Canada. Taken at the Peace Arch Border Crossing back in March.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Post-161 mile day. I promptly ate an entire pizza after this photo was taken.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On July 14 I competed in my first Olympic triathlon. I got 57th overall, with a final time of 2:45:46. In my age group (20-24 y/o males) I got 4th in the 1500m open water swim (29:58), 2nd in the 24.8 mile bike ride (1:18:11), 5th in the 10k run (53:53), and 2nd overall. All that with a $15 thrift store wetsuit and a road bike from 1972.

Hey there good-lookin'.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Several weeks after my triathlon, I was out for a run and figured I'd try doing a timed mile. I got a PR of 5:28, which was nearly 30 seconds faster than my previous PR! Needless to say, I think I'm fit enough to take on the coast. T-minus two weeks and counting!

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0