DAY 1: Peace Arch State Park (British Columbia) to Bellingham - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 3, 2018

DAY 1: Peace Arch State Park (British Columbia) to Bellingham

STATS:

Distance: 35.16 miles

Average Speed: 10.2 mph

Time Pedaling: 3:15:02

Expenses: $3 (maintenance)

I originally intended on departing tomorrow morning from Bellingham, but my boyfriend and his sister were driving up to the border so I joined along. Now my trip will truly be "border to border."

I've biked to/from Peace Arch State Park many times, and today was not particularly different than previous trips. I am glad I decided to do this short jaunt, because in the process of doing so I made some adjustments to my bike fit and learned that I improperly routed my bike new bike chain. My knee is bothering me a bit, particularly the ligament on the outside of my leg behind my knee. Any thoughts or suggestions as to how I could adjust my bike fit to minimize inflammation?

I followed a more direct back to Bellingham, and thus can't comment on the more westerly route that the ACA takes. When I got back to Bellingham I visited the university bike shop and fixed my chain. I also saw the Mr. Rogers documentary and bawled my eyes out. All-in-all, it was an easy, swell first day on the road. Tomorrow the long days in the saddle commence!

This park is such a lovely place to kick off what is sure to be a spectacular ride!
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 35 miles (56 km)
Total: 35 miles (56 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0