DAY 23: Refugio State Park to Santa Monica - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 25, 2018

DAY 23: Refugio State Park to Santa Monica

STATS:

Distance: 122.10 miles

Average Speed: 13.9 mph

Time Pedaling: 8:44:31

Maximum speed: 38.4 mph

Expenses: $15 (coffee, donuts, fruit, and a Subway meal)

Today was a bit of a brute, but I'm so happy with my progress and the hospitality that I've been been lucky enough to receive.

I was in a bit of a pickle regarding my intended destination for today. My original plan at the beginning of the trip was to camp in or near Malibu; however, local law enforcement has since uncovered a series of random shootings (potentially serial) at the parks in and around Malibu that have been taking place over the past few years. Recently, a father was senselessly murdered in his tent. I was therefore understandably hesitant to camp, so I reached out to friends as well as the warmshowers and couchsurfing communities. My aunt was kind enough to connect me with her friend Brian, who lives in Santa Monica.

Knowing it was going to be a very long day in the saddle to Santa Monica, I was up at 6 and out of camp by 7. The routine of making breakfast, taking down the tent, and repacking has become second nature.

The ride on the 101 into Santa Barbara was fast, and I was soon utilizing the wonderful system of bike trails to cross the city. I thought it would be tough to beat Monterey, but somehow Santa Barbara did it.

Unfortunately I was so enamored with the trails that I only managed to take one photo!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I was expecting Saturdays to be incredibly hectic, but perhaps because of the overcast skies the roads and beaches were quiet. At 10, having already completed almost 40 miles, I stopped in Summerland for coffee and donuts. I was making killer progress and wanted to maintain my energy.

I followed the bike paths out of town and into Ventura. It was around this time in the day that I started to experience some stomach issues. My best guess is that it was the product of too many days of cheap, unhealthy calories. Needless to say, I was glad that there were nearby public restrooms at my...ahem...disposal.

Looking back at the path paralleling 101.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I wolfed down a footlong sub at Subway, realizing I was going to need the calories for the next 50 mile push to Santa Monica. I also had a soda for the first time in years, which didn't exactly quell the stomach rumbles.

I rode in to Ventura with a wonderful local cyclist. She guided me through the maze of paths and directed me towards Subway.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I did stop at a fruit stand as well. Gotta have at least some healthy components in a touring diet!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Leaving Ventura and heading towards Oxnard, I traversed more dusty farmland. After a sweeping turn around a naval air base, I was back on the 1, which would take me to my final destination.

Why have affordable healthcare when you can have missles?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Highway 1 north of Malibu was very pleasant. In many ways, it reminded me a lot of the desert further south in Baja California Sur.

Heart 0 Comment 0

This tranquility, as expected, came to a gradual halt as I neared and proceeded to pass through Malibu. Who would have thought that passing through a world-renowned beach town on a weekend in the height of summer would be a stressful experience? There was simply not the necessary space for cyclists to be able to cycle safely, largely due to all of the cars parked along the shoulder. I anxiously awaited for the moment when some oblivious youngster would open the door to their sugar daddy's BMW and knock me into the passing traffic. Alas, I was not so lucky and continued along the furious streets.

One of the better sections of road. See what I'm talking about?
Heart 0 Comment 0
Just before descending into the busiest section.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Just as I was getting hangry and frustrated with the roads and drivers, two kids in the back of a convertible Mustang cheered me on and pumped their fists in support. I returned the display, and managed to pass them once more to do a repeat of the whole show. Their camaraderie gave me the moral boost I needed to finish out my ride to Santa Monica.

The famed beaches of southern California. I may have over 100 miles to go until home, but gosh does it feel close!
Heart 0 Comment 0

I finished up the day on the Santa Monica bike trail, dodging hoards of tourists on rented bikes and electric scooters. Brian cheered me on as I pedaled up the last small incline to his place. I was so incredibly happy to have a comfortable place to stay after such a long day, and Brian really went above and beyond. After I showered up, we chatted about bikes over dinner and beer. It was particularly inspiring to hear his stories about the Leadville 100, a brutal mountain bikin race in Colorado.

Time for some much-needed sleep. Tomorrow will be a short ride down to Newport Beach. Brian has been kind enough to offer to come part-way with me and guide me through the maze of streets in the Los Angeles basin.

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 122 miles (196 km)
Total: 1,722 miles (2,771 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0