DAY 22: San Luis Obispo to Refugio State Park - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 24, 2018

DAY 22: San Luis Obispo to Refugio State Park

STATS:

Distance: 94 67

Average Speed: 13.4 mph

Time Pedaling: 7:03:01

Maximum speed: 40.8 mph

Expenses: $19 (coffee, pastry, mid-day milkshake, and campsite)

Today was a pretty standard day on the road. In fact, for much of it I felt as though I was on autopilot. Some days are like that. Why, I do not know. Perhaps your mind just needs a break.

I woke up early, packed fast, and went to Kicking Horse Coffee for coffee and a pastry. I left San Luis Obispo by 8 and was rewarded with cool temperatures for the ride south through Pismo Beach, Oceano, and the north end of the Santa Maria Valley.

 Things started to heat up as I entered the valley. I was often flanked with eucalyptus trees on my left, and fields of strawberries and vegetables on my right. Their smells mixed together in the hazy, dusty air.

It's the law!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Entering the valley. The first half of today was largely flat. The second half...not so much.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a quick lunch in Guadalupe at a county park before tackling the first climb of the day: Harris Grade Road. The climb itself was very hot, and because the wind was at my back I didn't get any nice breeze to cool me down. It was a sweaty affair.

The county park in Guadalupe.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Taking a break at the summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0
"It's all downhill from here!" Words of encouragement at the summit.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I blasted into Lompoc, where I had a milkshake and booked it out of town. I didn't get particularly welcoming vibes from the city (although when the only place you visit is a Burger King that will probably always be the case).

It was then back on to Highway 1, which was pleasantly quiet. The climbs were gentle, and I just plugged away. The scenery was very shrubby and dry, and cows abounded on the open ranchlands.

The descent into Gaviota was a riot. Wind was coming from all directions, and I was pretty tossed around. I took a quick break at a rest stop before finishing up the day on a much-busier Highway 101. I was pretty knackered by day's end, so I was thrilled when I saw where I'd be spending the evening.

God I love this hobby.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My final campsite, and possibly my favorite. From here on out I'll be staying with friends and family. As I write this I can hear the waves lapping at the shore just 15 feet from my tent.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tomorrow will be a very long ride down to Santa Monica, so I'll call it good here. Until then, happy pedaling!

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 94 miles (151 km)
Total: 1,600 miles (2,575 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0