DAY 21: San Simeon State Park to San Luis Obispo - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 23, 2018

DAY 21: San Simeon State Park to San Luis Obispo

STATS:

Distance: 42.88

Average Speed: 14.0 mph (!)

Time Pedaling: 3:02:37

Maximum speed: 35.3 mph

Expenses: $3 (coffee and pastry)

Bike touring is as much a mental challenge as it is a physical one. Today I noticed a discernable shift in my mentality regarding the remainder of my trip. Perhaps it's because I've now entered familiar territory; or perhaps it's because there's now a distinct southern California vibe in the air. Whatever the reason, I'm feeling particularly energized and eager for the final 30 miles. With that being said, here is the daily cycling summary.

DAMN RACCOONS! I woke up just as a group of them was rifling through my food stash. The stole my bag of bagels! AND I LOVE MY BAGELS! One of them even had the audacity to stand up on his hind legs and growl at me. Stupid trash bandits. Luckily I was able to store my food in a local family's car (not realizing that there was a storage bin nearby).

I had a lazy morning, partly because I was waiting for my kind neighbors to wake and let me access my food, and partly because I knew I had a short day planned. I left camp at 9:50, and went to the Cambria Coffee Roastery just a few miles down Highway 1. After a great cup of coffee and a discount day old croissant, I pedaled 15 miles down the road to Cayucos, where I would be having lunch with the Kittles, some dear family friends.

Lunch with the Kittles was simply perfect. They were excited and eager to both hear about my journey and be part of it. We enjoyed shrimp, brautwursts, and some adorable mini ice cream cones while catching up. Mr. Kittle is a renowned author and journalist, and provided me with a wealth of information regarding local California history. I also did half of my laundry, which was good since I was starting to feel like a biohazard.

As we wrapped up lunch, they loaded me up with the remaining brats, as well as some divine cookies from the local Brown Butter Cookie Company. I was fueled and ready to pedal.

Thank you so much for your generosity and kindness!
Heart 1 Comment 0
The face of a man who has eaten his own weight in brats, potato salad, shrimp, and ice cream.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The miles to Morro Bay and San Luis Obispo were easy, thanks entirely to the roaring tailwind out of the northwest. Only now is that famed summer wind now making sense.

As windy as my backside after one too many Little Debbie Oatmeal Cookies (the cheapest calorie-per-dollar food I've found)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Enjoying the sunshine.
Heart 1 Comment 0
San Luis Obispo is one of the only places in California that I could really see myself settling down. Too bad everyone else feels the same and the real estate prices reflect that.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I cruised into SLO and set up at my brother's roommate's house. It's amazing how showering, shaving, and doing laundry can make you feel human again. I shared several inspiring phone calls with family and friends, which made me proud of what I've accomplished so far. Afterwards, I rode into town and wandered amongst the thriving farmers' market.

Today was a complete pleasure. I am feeling rested, well-fed, empowered, and ready to tackle the last bit of the Pacific Coast Bike Route. I swear I can almost taste the street tacos.

Gas: passed

Today's ride: 43 miles (69 km)
Total: 1,506 miles (2,424 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0