DAY 24: Santa Monica to Newport Beach - Passing Gas on the Pacific Coast Bike Route - CycleBlaze

August 26, 2018

DAY 24: Santa Monica to Newport Beach

STATS:

Distance: 60.44 miles

Average Speed: 12.2 mph

Time Pedaling: 4:55:05

Maximum speed: 73.7 mph (hmmm...I'm inclined to say this was an error)

Expenses: $23 (beers, fries, and donuts...cost of my impending heart attack: tbd)

Today was a day I had been anxiously awaiting since departing from the border some 24 days ago. I'd be crossing the sprawling megalopolis that is the Los Angeles basin. Luckily, though, I had Brian to point me in all the right directions.

We got started at 7:45, but not before I had to fix a flat on my front tire (the first for that tire on this trip). A small wire bead from a blown tire was the culprit. It's amazing how fast a tire change is with two people and an excellent floor pump!

We cruised down on a series of bike paths to Redondo Beach before then turning inland. We opted to stay on Highway 1 instead of taking the path recommended by the Adventure Cycling Association. Brian is a much more experienced and confident urban rider, and he provided me with defensive cycling tips. It all worked well enough, and we soon joined the LA River Bike Trail down through Long Beach.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Just outside of Santa Monica.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Queen Mary across the port entrance.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We stopped at Ballast Point for a mid-ride beer and some fries before wrapping up with an easy cruise down into Newport Beach. Brian turned around just after the 50 mile mark and sent me off with well wishes. The generosity of those I meet while on tour is always overwhelming. I can only aspire to one day give back to others what has been given to me.

I arrived at my godmother's mom's house at 2pm, which left me with a gloriously long afternoon to relax and explore. Her house is steps from the Wedge, a world-famous surf spot.

Watching the sailboats drift in the wind. It was 77 degrees Fahrenheit and I was loving every minute of it.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The Pacific has been an ever-present companion on this trip, and it has been fascinating to see it transform over the past 1600 miles. This trip has only covered a small sliver of it's true grandeur and diversity.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Tonight I have a warm bed to sleep in and a roof over my head, all in one of the most beautiful cities on the southern Californian coast. I feel like a lucky man. Tomorrow is my penultimate day on the road, and I will have the pleasure of seeing my family and sleeping in my own bed. Then it'll be on to Mexico the following day, where I'll cross the border, grab a bite to eat, snap some photos, and officially complete this trip. Best I get a good night's sleep so that I can fully appreciate my final two days on the road.

Gas: passed.

Today's ride: 60 miles (97 km)
Total: 1,782 miles (2,868 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0