9/1/19 - Holiday weekend in San Carlos - Summer 2019 in the Pacific Northwest - CycleBlaze

September 1, 2019

9/1/19 - Holiday weekend in San Carlos

While staying in San Carlos through the weekend I am taking in some local cycling. Great bike lanes on nearly every road here. I rode down Canada Road which is normally closed on Sunday for cyclists. Today the closure was canceled but still dozens and dozens (or hundreds) of cyclists were out there. 

Normally closed on Sundays for cycling
Heart 0 Comment 0
Cyclists’ cars parked all along the road, here and at the other end
Heart 0 Comment 0

Upon reaching the turnaround point I decided to explore a different path. Took the Ralston Bike Trail through Belmont. I happened upon the annual Greek Festival so had my lunch there. After finishing, the weather had warmed to the upper 80s so I headed on back to my WS hosts. 

Lucky find
Heart 0 Comment 0
Spanakopita, dolmades, Horiatiki salad, feta
Heart 0 Comment 0

Zoe and Ben are flying back to New Zealand so gave me their cans of camp stove fuel that cannot go on the plane. Makes me want to tour for another  two weeks! I probably won’t be able to use them, but will find someone else who can. Plus I still have one partial can. 

Note the one on the right is Rocket Fuel!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Another wonderful dinner with Chris and Taru and four friends of theirs. Dessert photo below. 

Dessert tonight. Yum!
Heart 2 Comment 1
Charmaine RuppoltThat's an incredible looking dessert!!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Today's ride: 16 miles (26 km)
Total: 981 miles (1,579 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 0