Day 5: The silky-smooth road from the title of the journal - 436 miles, 4 ferries, and 1 silky-smooth road in the Outer Banks - CycleBlaze

May 25, 2016

Day 5: The silky-smooth road from the title of the journal

Who knew there was a rooster behind the campground that would start crowing non-stop at 4:00am? Anyone? Anyone? In any case, I didn't need an alarm clock this morning to awaken. I broke camp in the dark and headed out to a food truck to get baked goods to take with me on the 2-1/2 hour ferry ride from the island to the mainland. I stopped at a bakery I saw on my walk yesterday, waited for them to open by 7:00, bought my goods, and then headed over to the ferry departure point. The ferry left promptly at 7:30.

The bakery is opening as I'm arriving
Heart 1 Comment 0
Had to wait about 10 minutes until they let me board. $3 for bicycles to cross. What a deal!
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here I am looking for a spot to sit on the ferry trip
Heart 0 Comment 0

The ride over took about 2-1/2 hours, and dropped me off in the middle of nowhere basically. If you zoom in on the map at the end of the journal you can see there's a ferry terminal and next to it an RV park. The ride from here was the road that had just been paved and was so silky-smooth I just rolled along for the next 25 miles or so. Even with the slight quartering headwind I made great time and it was soooooo flat until I had to pass over a causeway 15 miles in or so.

Pulling out of Ocracoke
Heart 0 Comment 0
Arrival at Cedar Island (more like a peninsula)
Heart 0 Comment 0
Passing through Cedar Island wildlife refuge. You can still see the mud tracks from the construction vehicles
Heart 0 Comment 0
Here's the road. it was like this from the moment the ferry dropped me off until I reached the small hamlet of Smyrna
Heart 0 Comment 0
I couldn't shake this guy from my side
Heart 0 Comment 0
Every once in a while I'd see an inlet with fishing boats. I assume these creeks or small waterways would lead out into the ocean
Heart 0 Comment 0

I thought I might get something to eat in Smyrna, but there was only a gift shop and convenience store. So it was a Clif bar until I could make it to Beaufort which had more services.

General store in Smyrna. I decided to keep riding instead of shopping today. Besides, I didn't have room on the bike to carry a lot of extra goods
Heart 0 Comment 0

In Beaufort I headed along the water and again there were shops and restaurants but I decided to keep going at this point. In retrospect I probably should have taken a break because I still had about 35 miles or so remaining in the day. Since I didn't get an early start (the ferry dropped me off around 10:00am I have to make up all these miles. And today is a sub-80 miler. After Beaufort, I crossed over another causeway into Morehead City where I rode along the water and backstreets until I came to the visitor center. The heat was now at its hottest part of the day and I took refuge in the building for 10 minutes to refill water bottles and a "splash and go"

Along the waterfront in Morehead city. Maybe it should have been named LARGEhead City
Heart 0 Comment 0
Outside the air-conditioned, water-refilling welcome center.
Heart 0 Comment 0

About this time I made a decision to skip passing over the causeway and onto the barrier island. It was hot and I figured cutting out 3-4 miles from the ride would help me get into camp earlier. In retrospect, I should have stuck with the original plan. While I saved the mileage, I paid for it in a more miserable 4-lane divided highway road. I discovered on this trip that coastal rides can be very flat and quiet, but when going inland, the motor routes are often designed for efficient automobile traffic and don't take into account bicycle infrastructure. I did have a brief encounter with a "Plastic Flamingo petting zoo" which was a clever way of advertising for a beachwear and beach goods shop

Flamingo petting zoo. Clever
Heart 0 Comment 0
I almost adopted one but couldn't find a spot on my bike
Heart 0 Comment 0

From the petting zoo, it was another 5 miles to the grocery store and another 5 miles to the campsite. I was beginning to tire and it was getting later in the day. I mentioned I had a long day and a later start so I didn't end of getting to camp until around 5:45. I sat down my sandwich, chips, and cheese from the grocery with my dining companion, a campground cat. Then it was off to set up camp and read before passing out for the night.

Tonight's dinner includes a premed sub, selection of fine cheese and crackers, and potatoes aux sweet-Maui
Heart 0 Comment 0
My dining companion for the evening, Miss Kitty
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 79 miles (127 km)
Total: 267 miles (430 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0