A fall reminiscence - 436 miles, 4 ferries, and 1 silky-smooth road in the Outer Banks - CycleBlaze

November 28, 2021

A fall reminiscence

Why this tour, and why now

I'm posting this journal from my 2016 tour along the Outer Banks of North Carolina. The trip was a ride from Virginia Beach to Myrtle Beach along the Outer Banks. I chose the route because it was something different where I had never ridden before and I could meet my family at Myrtle Beach for a vacation when I finished the tour.

I also toured with my road bike which I had never done before. I wanted to see if the bike could handle the rigors of touring with a light load. While the bike certainly handled the trip well, I decided there are probably other bikes better suited to the trip. I'll give a full review at the end as I look back on the pictures and remember the adventures.

With the days in the northern hemisphere heading to the shortest daylight hours, and we're being forced inside with colder temperatures, I'm posting this to give you all hope that touring season is less than 6 months away and these views of the beach and sunny skies (well, some days were sunny) will keep you occupied until you can get out there on your next tour.

I took my Merlin titanium on this trip. The gearing is suited for a flat ride and I put on brand-new Specialized Armadillo Elite tires for the ride. Bike performed very well, even with all the camping and cooking gear. Lack of space on the bike necessitated I wear a backpack.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0