Day 5: To Paulina Lake - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2006

Day 5: To Paulina Lake

The sun started shining on my tent at 6:30AM. It seems strange to not be camped under a forest canopy. After breakfast I said goodbye to Jacinto and Kelly who have a tight schedule to get back home to Colorado. I'm not in a big hurry so I will ride the dead-end road to Paulina lake and spend two nights there.

The camground is at the Paulina Lake turnoff. It was 12 continuous uphill miles with a 2100 foot climb to get to Paulina lake. Today was forecast to be much hotter than yesterday but it wasn't bad for me because Paulina lake is at 6300 feet elevation. I saw several racer-type cyclists during the climb to Paulina lake.

View of Mt. Bachelor and the Three Sisters from the climb to Newberry crater.
Heart 1 Comment 0
I used a tripod for this picture.
Heart 0 Comment 0

During the climb I was passed by a hundred cars towing boats. So I decided I should get a campsite as early as possible. I rode directly to the Little Crater campground on the east shore of Paulina lake, arriving at 1:30PM. I got a lakeside campsite that has spectacular views but very little shade.

From the campground I hiked to the Little Crater trail which took me several hundred feet above the lake shore with a great view of Paulina lake. It was clear that most everybody else was here for the fishing. I didn't see another soul on the trail during my 3 mile hike. This area is spectacular. It's a large volcanic crater, Oregon's "other" Crater Lake.

Paulina Lake from the top of the Little Crater trail.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Afterwards I had a refreshing cool homebrew shower in the forest, then rode a few miles to the East Lake resort to buy ice cream and beverages. Then I sat around camp waiting for the temperature to drop.

My campsite on the shore of Paulina Lake.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Shortly before sunset I started hiking the lakeshore trail from the north end of the campground. My destination is a hot spring 1.5 miles around the lakeshore. The setting sun cast a wonderful red glow.

Paulina Lake at sunset. Across the lake is 7984 foot Paulina Peak.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Fishermen returning to the dock at sunset.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I soaked in the hot spring for a couple hours then hiked back to the campground, arriving after midnight.

Today was sunny all day with a high temperature of 90F. Fortunately there was a steady breeze blowing at Paulina lake. It must have been much hotter in Bend at 3000 feet lower elevation. This is a good refuge during a heat wave.

Distance: 27.7 mi. (44.3 km)

Climbing: 2670 ft. (809 m)

Average Speed: 6.4 mph (10.2 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 33 mph (53 km/h)

Hiking: 8 mi. (12.8 km)

Today's ride: 28 miles (45 km)
Total: 234 miles (377 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0