Day 31: To Bagby Hot Springs - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 20, 2006

Day 31: To Bagby Hot Springs

I left home a month ago! I think it will take me another week to get home. I got on the road at 8:30. There was heavy dew on the tent in the morning for the first time in a long time. Today's route starts on back roads that require a good atlas for navigation.

From Corbett I turned south on Evans road which takes me down to the Sandy River, climbs 1000 feet, then drops down to the Sandy river again.

Sandy River near the town of Sandy.
Heart 0 Comment 0

After crossing the river I had still more big climbs before the town of Sandy. The climbing between Corbett and Sandy was much more than I anticipated. In Sandy I turned onto highway 211 which goes to the southwest. The next 7 miles were probably the most dangerous road on this tour. No shoulder and high speed trucks that obviously didn't appreciate a bike on the road. It got MUCH better on highway 224. It's a divided highway with a wide paved shoulder. It was mostly flat to Estacada. Estacada is about the same elevation as Corbett (where I started today), but there was 3250 feet of climbing between Corbett and Estacada. Only then did I start climbing into the Cascades.

Approaching the Cascade Range near the town of Estacada.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped for lunch and groceries in Estacada. I bought a lot of groceries because I don't expect to see another grocery store until Detroit 2 days from now. I continued for many miles on highway 224 alongside the Clackamas river. Gradual uphill for 30 miles.

Highway 224 climbs gradually along the Clackamas river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Another view of the Clackamas river.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Still another view of the Clackamas river.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At the Ripplebrook ranger station I turned right onto Forest Road 46, still along the Clackamas river. 4 miles later I turned right onto Forest Road 63. Then 4 miles later I turned onto Forest Road 70 to Bagby hot spring.

Hot Springs fork of the Collowash river near Bagby hot springs.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From there it was 7 miles to the Bagby hot spring trailhead. I free camped in the forest near the trailhead at 2100 feet elevation.

It was unusually hot and humid today. I sweat profusely on the climbs and there were a LOT of climbs. At the campsite I filtered water, made a homebrew shower, and ate dinner. I ate cold stuff because I was so hot that I didn't want to eat hot food. I went to bed early because I was exhausted. My campsite was in earshot of the Bagby hot spring trailhead. During the night I could hear loud obnoxious people coming and going on the trail. I'm hoping to have a peaceful quiet soak early in the morning.

Today seemed like all work and no play. I swam one time in the cold Clackamas river, but spent much more time pedaling today than most days. Big mileage and big climbing. At the swimming hole I met two other seasoned bike tourists who were also doing a big loop in Oregon.

Distance: 70.5 mi. (112.8 km)

Climbing: 5070 ft. (1536 m)

Average Speed: 8.8 mph (14.1 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 43.6 mph (70 km/h)

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 1,425 miles (2,293 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0