Day 28: To Dufur City Park - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 17, 2006

Day 28: To Dufur City Park

Today I travel northwest into a strong northwest headwind. But I finally got to see the Cascades again.

I got on the road at 9 AM. It was an easy climb to Shaniko (3341 feet elevation), with the sun still behind the big hills. I ate breakfast #2 at the historic Shaniko hotel. After breakfast I looked around the hotel. They leave some of the rooms open for people to see. I walked around the town a bit.

Hotel Shaniko.
Heart 0 Comment 0

In the early 1900's Shaniko was the "wool shipment capital of America". A couple decades ago it was almost a ghost town. But the town has revived and now has a population of 26. It's a tourist attraction for people traveling on US 97.

Shaniko, population 26.
Heart 0 Comment 0

From Shaniko I pedaled 2 miles west on Hwy 97, then turned onto Bakeoven road which goes 25 barren miles to the town of Maupin (1041 feet elevation). I saw only one house during that 25 miles. The road loses more than 2000 feet elevation but the headwind was so strong that it hardly felt downhill. The road has great views of snow-capped mountains.

Mt. Jefferson to the southwest.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Wheat field and Mt. Hood from Bakeoven road.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Charmaine RuppoltWhat a name for a road -- "Bakeoven Road".
Reply to this comment
5 days ago
Wayne EstesTo Charmaine RuppoltThe name Bakeoven reveals what they were thinking and what to expect. Oregon is full of literal place names such as "big lake" and "little lake".
Reply to this comment
5 days ago
11,240 foot Mt. Hood is the highest peak in Oregon.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Deschutes river and the town of Maupin. In the distance is Mt. Adams in the state of Washington.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I ate lunch in Maupin. It was hot. The sun really heats up the bare rock in the Deschutes river canyon. After lunch I turned north on "Deschutes River Access Road". The road stays next to the Deschutes river for 10 miles, passing numerous roadside parks. The scenery is spectacular, the weather was hot, and the river was very cold. I couldn't go more than waist deep in the river because it was so cold.

The Deschutes river is a popular destination for rafting.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Deschutes river.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I crossed the river on Shearer's bridge, onto highway 216. Near the bridge is a spectacular section of river that belongs to the Warm Springs Indian reservation.

Fishing platforms for the exclusive use of Warm Springs tribe members.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Highway 216 climbs a big hill, then drops into the Tygh river valley (a tributary of the Deschutes river). I stopped at White River Falls State Park to see the impressive multi-tiered waterfall. It was hard to take good pictures because I was looking into the sun.

Upper White River Falls drops 90 feet. This is the view from near the parking lot.
Heart 1 Comment 0
You have to walk 1/4 mile down a trail to see lower White River falls.
Heart 1 Comment 0

After the waterfall stop I continued west on hwy 216, uphill into a strong headwind. I started seeing irrigated farms again but there were no towns or stores.

Llamas in the Tygh river valley.
Heart 1 Comment 0

It was getting late and I was hoping to find a place to camp in the Tygh valley. No such luck, so I turned right onto US 197 and started the big climb to Tygh Ridge Summit (2665 feet elevation).

Near sunset on US 197 south of Dufur.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I got to the summit at about sunset, then descended into a strong headwind to the town of Dufur. I had to ask for directions to find the city park. I arrived at the park at 9 PM - it was almost dark. $8 for a campsite, with showers.

Today was a long hot day. Big mileage, big climbs, and big headwinds. I was on the road for 12 hours. But I did see a variety of sights.

Distance: 70.6 mi. (113 km)

Climbing: 3730 ft. (1130 m)

Average Speed: 8.6 mph (13.8 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 35.5 mph (57 km/h)

Today's ride: 71 miles (114 km)
Total: 1,251 miles (2,013 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0