Day 23: To Ukiah-Dale State Park - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

July 12, 2006

Day 23: To Ukiah-Dale State Park

The temperature got down to 40F overnight. Crisp and cool. I got on the road at 8:20AM, wearing my rain suit to keep warm and to keep the mosquitoes from biting. The first couple miles was an easy climb to the 7392 foot summit.

Highest I pedaled in eastern Oregon. Crater Lake is slightly higher.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Then a cold descent to 6000 feet elevation. The sky was overcast with occasional sprinkles of rain. I biked through the first of several large burn areas. The Blue mountains had some huge forest fires in recent years. Many of those areas are only just starting to regenerate.

A very large burned area.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Today I rode many miles through burned areas.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's route has a huge net descent. I expected this to be an easy day. Instead there were several non-trivial climbs in between long descents. I counted three 200 foot climbs and three 400 foot climbs.

Forest and flowers in between burned areas.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road stays above 5000 feet elevation until I was 13 miles from Ukiah (3353 feet elevation). Forest road 73 is above 5000 feet elevation for 54 miles! It's a "road to nowhere" so I wasn't surprised that it has no traffic. I saw a car about once every 10 minutes.

Awesome burnscape.
Heart 0 Comment 0

At one point in the afternoon I rode more than 10 miles in a continuous burn area. That was a BIG fire!

Red barns were actually quite rare. Most barns were unpainted.
Heart 1 Comment 0

I was tired and hungry when I finally got to Ukiah. It's the most depressing town I saw on this tour. I ate a very late lunch at the bar/cafe, arriving at 3:45 PM. The town has 3 stores selling food but all 3 had a poor selection and very old merchandise. One store gave me a free box of breakfast cereal because it was a year past the expiration date. The next section of this tour is in remote areas and I was hoping to have a better selection when stocking up on food.

Ukiah, Oregon
Heart 1 Comment 0

I camped at Ukiah-Dale state park (3200 feet elevation), 3 miles south of Ukiah. It's in a forested canyon, a completely different environment than the open range land surrounding Ukiah. My site was on the bank of Camus creek. The park doesn't have showers, so I made my own shower. I camped next to 3 other touring cyclists. One had a Gold Rush recumbent bike. They started their tour in Sunriver, just south of Bend. The park is next to US 395 but there is very little traffic. Highway noise wasn't a problem.

Today's high temperature was only 75F. It was cloudy for most of the day. I lost 4000 feet elevation today but still had a lot of climbing mixed in with long descents.

Distance: 63.4 mi. (101.4 km)

Climbing: 2500 ft. (758 m)

Average Speed: 10.1 mph (16.2 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 41.1 mph (65.8 km/h)

Today's ride: 63 miles (101 km)
Total: 994 miles (1,600 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 1
Comment on this entry Comment 0