Day 10: To Mitchell in the rain - To Hell's Canyon and Back 2006 - CycleBlaze

June 29, 2006

Day 10: To Mitchell in the rain

It started raining at 4:30 AM, so I jumped out naked and put the rain fly on the tent. It was still raining steadily when I got up at 7 AM. I packed up all the wet stuff and got on the road at 8:40 AM. The other 3 cyclists were just starting to take down their wet tents when I left.

It was a long, cold, rainy 2300 foot descent to 2400 feet elevation. Then a gradual 350 foot climb to Mitchell (2777 feet elevation). I needed that climb to warm up, but I was still cold and wet when I got to Mitchell and stopped at the cafe for a second breakfast.

Cafe in Mitchell. The bikes belong to a father and two sons who were biking cross country on a tight schedule.
Heart 0 Comment 0

It was still raining steadily after breakfast. The locals said it is likely to rain all day, so I went next door and got a room at the Oregon hotel. The road ahead has spectacular scenery. I don't want to miss the scenery by riding in the rain.

Oregon Hotel in Mitchell, Oregon. My shelter from all-day rain.
Heart 0 Comment 0
My room at the Oregon Hotel. The floor is 1930's linoleum.
Heart 1 Comment 0

The room cost $45, with a shared bath, no phone, no TV, and no A/C. Not exactly a great value but it's very charming and is the only hotel in town. The building was built in 1938, the third hotel building on this site. I took a hot shower and spread out my rain gear and tent to dry.

I spent a lot of time browsing the grocery store and wandering around the 1-block downtown. I wish I took a picture of the bear that lives in a cage behind the gas station.

Grocery store in Mitchell. "Population 160 if everybody's home".
Heart 0 Comment 0
Free creekside camping in the city park. The nearby laundromat has a pay shower.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Snoozing through a rain shower at the Oregon Hotel.
Heart 0 Comment 0

A very heavy rain storm passed through in the afternoon but the clouds started to break up at about 6 PM. For a short time the temperature was 80F with 100% humidity. But it was cooler and drier in the evening.

After the rain, a beautiful sunset in Mitchell, Oregon.
Heart 2 Comment 0

I didn't need a rest day today after having an easy day yesterday. It's nice to have NO schedule deadlines, so I can stop if I want to when the weather is awful. Hopefully tomorrow I can get much farther down the road.

Distance: 17.0 mi. (27.2 km)

Climbing: 460 ft. (139 m)

Average Speed: 13.0 mph (20.8 km/h)

Maximum Speed: 38.0 mph (60.8 km/h)

Today's ride: 17 miles (27 km)
Total: 394 miles (634 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0