Death Valley January 2022 - On the Ground, In the World - CycleBlaze

January 1, 2022

Death Valley January 2022

Rain in the desert. Let it flow!... (away from my tent)
Heart 1 Comment 0
Red Rock Canyon. Highly recommended.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Perspective...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Last Chance Canyon under an overhang
Heart 5 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltWhen in high school, I went there to hunt opal... Only found tiny pieces. It was a jeep trail to get in back then, and passed by the "Old Dutch Cleanser" mine.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Going off the beaten path at O'Dark Thirty in the middle of the desert. What could go wrong?
Heart 2 Comment 0
-6C temperatures with completely frozen water bottles and food. But I had two apples! Wahoo!
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dig. The. Mojave!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Trona was kind of creepy at 0100 in the morning.
Heart 1 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltDoes it still stink like sulfur? Our district track finals were held there because they had a great track... but the mineral extraction emissions were nauseating.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
News flash. On a bike there is no hiding out here. Let the Exposure Fatigue begin.
Heart 7 Comment 0
Ballarat jail and morgue.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Tracking down another bucket list item...
Heart 2 Comment 0
Hello, Bucket List!
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Majestic Burro
Heart 5 Comment 0
Alright, kids. Now I can shut-up about it. I'm here.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Panamint Springs in the rear view mirror.
Heart 5 Comment 0
Just. Keep. Pedaling.
Heart 4 Comment 0
That's enough elevation for the day
Heart 2 Comment 0
Ready for the descent into Stovepipe
Heart 3 Comment 0
Insane descent into warmth and a parking lot for a campsite
Heart 2 Comment 0
That's my desert rat that I'm feeding!
Heart 3 Comment 0
Feeling pretty exposed, and feral, right about now. Tapped into something primal. Note: Being out here on a bike is *not* the same as being in a car. Full stop.
Heart 7 Comment 0
A new type of cactus for me...
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltLooks like cotton top cactus

Similar to barrel, but smaller and they grow in clusters.

https://swbiodiversity.org/seinet/taxa/index.php?taxon=3425
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Found this along the side of the road. It was either a good sign, or a bad omen. Not sure which...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Backcountry into the Racetrack.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Eight hours of trying to keep the bike upright on 38mm tires. In all fairness I was warned...
Heart 1 Comment 0
Tagged Teakettle going in...
Heart 5 Comment 1
Scott AndersonImpressive bit of artwork. You must have taken pains with it.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Alpenglow over the Playa
Heart 3 Comment 0
Loved. That. Surface
Heart 8 Comment 0
Shimmery Goodness
Heart 3 Comment 0
I liked the mud so much that I didn't even care about the rocks.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Proof positive that I'm here. Finally.
Heart 4 Comment 0
More Shimmery Goodness
Heart 5 Comment 0
Tagged Teakettle going out...
Heart 3 Comment 0
Teakettle Junction. wOOt!
Heart 6 Comment 0
Subtle, Simple, and a Scale that has to be experienced to be... experienced.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Because I don't know where I'm going next.
Heart 3 Comment 0
Mesquite Campground Sunrise.
Heart 4 Comment 0
Artists Palatte. Phooey on all the colors. I like this one best.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Bit o' history at Furnace Creek
Heart 4 Comment 1
Bill ShaneyfeltTheir rail head terminus was in Mojave.

Back in the 50s there was a TV series "Death Valley Days" that was supported by 20 Mule Team Borax advertisements. "The Old Ranger" was the host. One of my favorite shows.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Dante's Point. Supposed to be a good place to take pictures.
Heart 4 Comment 0
O. M. G. A Grocery Store. With Food. And aisles. And carts. And reasonable prices. No. Way.
Heart 2 Comment 0
In the Willamette Valley there are deer. In Pahrump, it's horses.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Putting it to use after 42 years . Thanks, Grandpa! You were right. Hold onto it and some day it'll have more value. Now I'll know which way to go next!
Heart 4 Comment 0

I've been on the road for six months now. 

What a trip.

Time is squishy out here. Six weeks feels like six months. And six months feels like six years.

I've been in a rainstorm for three weeks straight. Not recommended.
I've discovered that losing your phone really is as bad as it could be. Password protect your phones, people!
I've heard weird ass whistling in the woods deep in the middle of the night that could not be explained away. Super. Frickin. Creepy.
I've had a cougar growling right outside my tent right by my head, after I spooked it in the night. It was not happy about my presence.
I've been in a windstorm that appears to have left, to this day, some emotional scarring. I f***king HATE wind...
I've been shot at in the Mojave. So that's what it sounds like when bullets are going past your tent!
I've discovered a vortex in the desert. Weirdest damn thing.
And I've tapped into feral mode in Death Valley. As per the National Park: "Be careful when entering mine shafts, since wild animals may be seeking shelter". I was that wild animal. 

Thanks to everybody, friends and family, for all the support out here!!! 

Know that I couldn't have done it without you.

And right now a little downtime is in order while I chart the next leg of this journey. I'm just as curious as you may be to see what happens next...

Peace Out for now.

Raven.

Rate this entry's writing Heart 9
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Bill ShaneyfeltEnjoyed it, especially the desert (of course)! Thanks for posting! Looking forward to the next installment.
Reply to this comment
2 years ago
Mark BinghamGreat pics! I enjoyed the ride! (and I get it about the wind... brushing against insanity at times)
Reply to this comment
2 years ago