Day 3 : Caunes-Minervois to Limoux - Old Stones and Live Ammunition - Rich Solo Gravel Tour - October 2019 - CycleBlaze

October 27, 2019

Day 3 : Caunes-Minervois to Limoux

Heart 0 Comment 0

After a quiet night in a very quiet old hotel, I had another great breakfast before setting out.

Civilization!
Heart 0 Comment 0

Of all of the days I thought would be difficult with hunters, Sunday was the day.   So I set off with some trepidation.

My first goal was the Allée Couverte de Saint-Eugène.   I had some beautiful roads on the way there.

More nice gravel
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got to the point where I needed to turn left up the hill toward the dolmen and - you guessed it - more gunfire.  Along with baying hounds.  That always means a wild boar hunt.   Which usually means fleeing wild animals (with tusks) in addition to the usual gunshot risk.

I wearily turned right instead.  And just then out of the corner of my eye, I saw a dog streaking toward me.  Oh no - just what I need right now.

But he wasn't barking or biting.  He was bored and looking for a friend.  We were instantly the best of friends and for the next 5k I had a touring buddy!   Just when I was getting worried he was too far from home, he turned around and headed back.

My new friend
Heart 1 Comment 0

After Laure-Minervois there was a section of dirt road I had seen on the map and was looking forward to exploring.  Unfortunately as I approached it, I saw a collection of white Renault vans parked along my intended path.  Nope.  Not gonna happen today... I stayed on the paved road, cursing under my breath.

Over a few hills and dales and I was in Malves-en-Minervois, where my next and final goal for the day stood.  Just across the river, again with a small dirt parking lot and a short trail.   It just sits there, silent, as it's sat for millenniums.  Kind of gives me chills.   I wonder what it was for?

Malves Menhir
Heart 2 Comment 0

After taking about a million pictures, I was pretty done.  At this point I was fed up with hunters and just ready to be home.  It's my usual state at the end of a tour, whether it's 3 days or 10 days.   I don't understand how so many folks can spend months on the road - this is a tribe of humanity that is foreign to me.  I just wanted to be home.

My path took me along the Canal du Midi for awhile.  We've ridden this section on the tandem (between Trebes and Carcassonne) and it's always a treat.

Canal du Midi
Heart 0 Comment 0

Unfortunately they're cutting down all the beautiful old Plane trees.  The canal looks so empty without them.  I don't understand the history or science of it, but I hope they find something else to plant soon.  The boat rental companies can't be happy about this!

Hope they plant something else soon
Heart 0 Comment 0

I rode through Carcassonne and took a break under the Cité.   I'll spare you a picture - others have taken much better ones than I have.   

I was in head-down mode now, so it was paved roads all the way home.   Fall colors were showing in the vineyards and the blue sky made for a beautiful picture when I bothered to look up.

Like an old horse on the way back to the barn
Heart 1 Comment 0

Finally, back home!   The bike did great and the bags worked perfectly.  Of course, a 3 day tour isn't much of a challenge, but still...

A little more roadworn than 3 days ago
Heart 1 Comment 0

I got to the airport the next day to pick Robin up - no problem!

Today's ride: 62 km (39 miles)
Total: 192 km (119 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0