Day 2 : Lagrasse to Caunes-Minervois - Old Stones and Live Ammunition - Rich Solo Gravel Tour - October 2019 - CycleBlaze

October 26, 2019

Day 2 : Lagrasse to Caunes-Minervois

Heart 0 Comment 0

I had a great breakfast in the hotel - it seemed like I was the only one there.  While eating, I suddenly realized that I hadn't seen any hunters the day before!  Maybe I had been overly cautious and things were going to work out OK.  Ha.

I headed out and immediately got mixed into a large peloton of road cyclists from a local club, out for their Saturday morning ride.  Fun for a while, but I couldn't keep up.   Eventually I floated down to Ribaute, where I crossed the river to head for Camplong d'Aude, where I hoped to climb the Signal d'Alaric, a mountain that has 3 separate sites on it.

Crossing the river at Ribaute
Heart 1 Comment 0

As I entered Camplong, I heard the ominous sounds I had been fearing:  Howling hounds and the crack of shots.   All in the direction I was heading.  Hmm - ok.  Time for plan B!

I turned east and rerouted to Fabrezan and Fontcouverte.   My new destination was the Dolmen de Montbrun-des-Corbières.   I was very proud of my newfound flexibility.  And happy to be leaving the hunters behind.

Between Fabrezan and Fontcouverte
Heart 1 Comment 0

The Dolmen de Montbrun-des-Corbières, if it indeed exists, is on top of a hilltop between the D6113 and Montbrun.  The climb up was tough, but the top of the hill turned out to be a large, flat area crisscrossed with trails and dirt roads.  I couldn't hear any guns...

On the way to the dolmen
Heart 2 Comment 0

This is what I don't like about dolmens.  How can you tell the difference between a collapsed dolmen and a pile of rocks?  It's possible I saw the dolmen - I looked at a lot of rocks up there.  But I can't swear to it!

Is that the dolmen?
Heart 0 Comment 0

Ah well, more old stones await.  Time to get moving.  It was pretty up there, though.

Leaving the dolmen (or non-dolmen) site
Heart 1 Comment 0

I came down off the hilltop and found myself on gravel and almost-paved roads as I worked my way to the old railroad bridge near Puicheric.   It was a beautiful fall day.  A bit cold, but clear, with massive blue skies.

Between Montbrun-des-Corbieres and Puicheric
Heart 0 Comment 0

Time for a selfie!

Bike selfie time
Heart 0 Comment 0

I stopped on the bridge for a snack and noticed that my rear tire was flat.  A few minutes of exertion and I was back in business, good to go with a new tube. 

Snack pause on a bridge over the Aude
Heart 1 Comment 0

I rode to La Redorte and got lunch makings in a market.  I ate on a park bench in the middle of town.   It was a quiet Saturday and not much was happening in La Redorte.

Break in La Redorte
Heart 0 Comment 0

I headed north to Azille and Pépieux en route to my next stop:  The Morrel das Fadas.  I think "das Fadas" means "the fairies" in Occitan.  

Leaving Pépieux
Heart 0 Comment 0

There was no missing this one.  The site has been improved and a small parking lot installed. 

Morrel das Fadas (or maybe Fados?)
Heart 0 Comment 0

 I climbed up to the hilltop where the dolmen sat and it was beautiful!   Very well restored and it actually had a roof on part of the burial chamber.

Morrel das Fadas detail
Heart 1 Comment 0

Now THAT is definitely not a pile of rocks!

More Morrel das Fadas
Heart 2 Comment 0

I was feeling pretty good about that one, although there wasn't much sport in it, to be honest.   I headed off toward Felines-Minervois for my next stop, which was going to be a bit more difficult.   I was headed for the Allée Couverte de Jappeloup.

On the road to Felines-Minervois
Heart 0 Comment 0

How to explain the next adventure?  It's complicated!

I left Felines-Minervois and climbed up a road into the vines.  I was headed for an intersection that I had scoped out on the map that would lead me to a crossroads where I needed to make a right up the hill to the dolmen.

Well, the intersection was there, but what I hadn't seen was that the road I needed to get onto was 30 feet higher than the road I was on.  A spindly path snaked up the hillside but there was no way I could get a bike up there.

I poked around and decided to walk back along the vines to see whether I could get up the right side of the hill.  Then I came to a low stone wall.  I heaved the bike over and repeated the process through another vineyard.   I kept looking for a way through the undergrowth and trees up to the road above, but all I could find looked like cliffs.

I was about halfway through the second vineyard when I heard the crack of guns behind me.  Uh-oh.  I looked forward and the next rock wall was serious - about 4 feet tall.   Yikes! 

I leaned the bike on the wall, found a lower spot, and climbed up onto the wall.  I walked back and grabbed the bike and with all my might, managed to pull it over into vineyard #3.  It sounded like the guns were getting closer.  I was starting to panic.

As I scrambled through the third vineyard, the panic was rising a bit.  I was hoping not to meet the owner - that would be awkward.  And I was definitely hoping not to meet the hunters.  A guy with a gun wouldn’t expect to find a cyclist out here!

Like a bad suspense movie, I saw an opening in the bushes.  I dived in and pushed the bike up a small hill.  Branches were scraping my arms and legs, but it looked like a path someone had used before, so I kept pushing.  Suddenly I popped out into the open!  Amazingly I seemed to be on the road I needed to be on - just half a mile uphill from where I started searching.

Well, I'm on the road anyway!
Heart 1 Comment 0

After getting my heart rate back down, I nervously rode down the hill (kind of at right angles to the direction of the gunfire), but by then all of my interest in the dolmen had evaporated.  All I wanted was to be out of range of the guns and somewhere safe.   So I rode off the mountain past some startled dog-walkers and hurried into Caune-Minervois, where I had a reservation at the Hotel La Marberie.

Again, a nice lady at the reception desk ignored my disheveled appearance and found a safe place for my bike.   I cleaned up and walked down the street to L'Argent Double, where I consumed a lovely pizza.

Then to sleep.

Today's ride: 66 km (41 miles)
Total: 130 km (81 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 0