Day 8 - With the help of strangers - Rollin' ocean to ocean - CycleBlaze

May 17, 2023

Day 8 - With the help of strangers

14 miles out of Christiansburg I broke my bike chain. I did not drop the chain off the chain ring (front) or cassette (back), I broke it. I pushed the bike up to a house and a nice women with two teenage sons came out. I used a hammer and needle nose pliers to put the chain back on. Rolled a quarter mile and it came apart again. I was very rural Virginia and out of options. Three guys in a pickup stopped and asked if I needed help. They put my chain back together and I rolled another 50 miles to a hostel in Troutdale. This morning I rolled another 24 to Damascus and a bike shop where I had a new chain put. I am forever grateful to strangers who helped me

Draper Mercantile, old building, beautiful inside, now a restaurant
Heart 1 Comment 0
There is some truth here
Heart 2 Comment 0
Jacob and Luke who helped cobble together my chain the first time. Never got a picture of Chris who helped put the chain back together the 2nd time
Heart 4 Comment 0
This was taken in downtown Wytheville. It was not until 1928 when VA made lynching illegal
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dollar store number 6, Wytheville
Heart 2 Comment 0
Dollar store number 7, Rural Retreat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Richard Jackson who road bikes and was a commercial and private pilot
Heart 3 Comment 0
Dollar store number 8 in Rural Retreat
Heart 1 Comment 0
Dollar store number 9 in Sugar Grove
Heart 2 Comment 0
Tree farm, rural Virginia
Heart 1 Comment 0
Hostel/Bunkhouse in Troutdale. Rodney and Jake on front porch
Heart 3 Comment 0


Today's ride: 64 miles (103 km)
Total: 468 miles (753 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 4
Comment on this entry Comment 2
Robert OwensIt is always amazing to me the number of people who go out of their way to help a stranger. I think you are seeing the best of America.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Anne CoreyLove that you are finding so many g helpful people. It seems like all we hear only about the bad ones. Ride on Dave. Love reading your entries!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago