Uvdal - Fjords and the Midnight Sun - CycleBlaze

June 30, 2009

Uvdal

I didn't sleep very well as it was too warm and stuffy in the cabin. You just can't win. 

At breakfast I see the Thorn owner, a Norwegian guy who is reticent, reluctant to discuss his pricey bike. 

I have breakfast, then ride down Route 40 which includes Norway's cycle route number 5. A sign at the edge of Geilo shows me what's in store: up and down and up and down and up and down.

Heart 0 Comment 0

At the last of those ups - Vasstulan - I have a late lunch. The altitude is just over 1,000 meters and there's a great view from the cafe's elevated terrace. The owner is great and has ridden a bit so we chat about that. It starts to drizzle while I'm using the wi-fi and so I hang around, toying with the idea of paying for one of the cabins and calling it a day, but it seems too early for that. It stops and I ride down and down to the Youth Hostel at Uvdal, cruising beside a huge lake.

The hostel is a gem and I am glad I got here. It's an old wooden house decorated in a tradition style with knicknacks and antique furniture and the lady who runs it is sweet. My bunk costs 210 krone and that includes breakfast and I'm the only guest. She lets me use her wi-fi. 

Today's ride: 50 km (31 miles)
Total: 1,158 km (719 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0