Leikanger - Fjords and the Midnight Sun - CycleBlaze

June 25, 2009

Leikanger

In the morning the sun is bright and I'm up and about at 7.30am, cycling east to the local bakery where the campsite owner told me I could get a coffee. This is true of most Norwegian bakeries. They open early. I get there and have two. No hurry. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

A few hours of pedalling later, I stop for a lunch of fruit and yogurt bought from a supermarket in Gaupne, a sleepy place, then cycle beside the same fjord and climb and descend to another one, this much bigger. 

Heart 1 Comment 0

When I reach Songndal, where it's very hot, I have a sandwich before riding on to Leikanger, which I get to at about 4pm.

Leikanger - there's a basic hotel with a room with bathroom for 400 krone and I use the wifi while sat in its dining area that looks out across the vast fjord. 

Leikanger
Heart 1 Comment 0

As it gets late - around 8 - I walk to a nearby hotel - this one plush and up-market - which they say does a buffet dinner. It's catering to the boat tourists and there's a group of elderly helping themsleves to the array of dishes. There are crab claws a couple of feet long. Roast spuds. Lots of veggies. I have a couple of beers, which are extra to the 300 krone charge. Not cheap, but well worth it. 

Once back at my room, with the sun now low, I spot a big cruise ship and take its photo as it sails into the setting rays.

1:250 000 freytag & berndt map - route from Leikanger west and south to Vikøyri
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 70 km (43 miles)
Total: 912 km (566 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0