Lusterfjorden - Fjords and the Midnight Sun - CycleBlaze

June 24, 2009

Lusterfjorden

Not sure why, but I didn't sleep really well and got up at 1am and took a little walk. 

This is much further south, but there's never any real darkness. 

I end up getting breakfast at 8 and then use Skype. 

Heart 0 Comment 0

It's very sunny and I set off before 9 in the chilly shade of the valley, climbing the 10km and reach the top. The road then levels out and there are lots of skiers doing a vast loop on the nearby slopes, most bare-chested and in shorts. Just as well its warm. A mid-summer ritual? Summer has to be when they enjoy daylight after winter months spent living and hibernating in 24-hour darkness. That's got to be tough.

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0

It's sublime. From this high point I have 10 kilometers going gently up and down before a long drop to Lusterfjorden. 

Speed. 

Cornering. 

Braking... and then more speed... speed... speeeeed. Whoohaaeeeee...

Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0

The road sticks to its shorline, bending and twisting and I cruise along to find a waterside cabin: 300 krone. It's been a 60km day; quite an easy one. There's a great view of the fjord and my wooden hut is right by the water's edge. The camp store does microwaved meals, which I tell myself is better than nothing. 

After pasta, I sit outside my hut on a chair and a couple from a nearby hut walk over as if they know me. They tell me they saw me at the bonfire last night. They were staying at Bøvertun, too. They're Norwegians and friendly and ask about cycling and my tour. We agree this country is wonderful.

Today's ride: 60 km (37 miles)
Total: 842 km (523 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0