To Dorr Skeels Mosquito Ranch - Northwest Trails - CycleBlaze

June 8, 2023

To Dorr Skeels Mosquito Ranch

The deck overlooking the lake at the Koocanusa Resort is a fine perch for breakfast while we charge our phones. 

There's a few more miles along Lake Koocanusa down to the Libby Dam, then we turn west on Champion Haul Road, following the Kootenai River and the railroad.

Heart 4 Comment 0
Last look at the lake
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
On Champion Haul Road by the Kootenai River
Heart 3 Comment 0

The road is all but deserted and its an easy ride with no big hills. Barry takes off while I putter along.

There he goes.
Heart 2 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I haven’t seen a rig like this before - a pickup truck with train wheels going backward on the tracks.
Heart 2 Comment 2
Keith AdamsRR signal maintenance crews use them a lot, I think. I bet the rails cause pretty odd wear patterns in the truck's tires, though.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamWel that makes sense. Thanks for the clue Keith.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 4 Comment 0
Libby Creek
Heart 3 Comment 0

We meet for lunch in the deli at Roseauer’s market in Libby, a nice change of pace from the usual Cliff bars. After lunch we ride on U.S. 2, back in traffic but it’s not bad. 

At the Kootenai Falls we stop to hike the trail to the falls and the swinging bridge. 

Bridge to the Kootenai Falls trail
Heart 2 Comment 0
Kootenai Falls
Heart 2 Comment 0
Swinging bridge built by the Forest Service
Heart 5 Comment 0
Heart 2 Comment 0
The Kootenai gorge, from the swinging bridge
Heart 2 Comment 0

After a break for ice cream at a little cafe by the trail we ride further on US 2 with great views of the river. Near Troy we turn south on MT 56 and the road is quiet again most of the way to Bull Lake. Weary of my pokiness, Barry takes off to set up camp. 

At the top of a hill, I spot a pit bull. I try not to make eye contact but as soon as I pass him he trots out for the chase. That’ll get me going. He runs after me for quite a while. Luckily I have a good long downhill stretch and eventually shake him. 

Last look at the river with the railroad running alongside it
Heart 4 Comment 0
A calmer scene after my race with the pit bull
Heart 2 Comment 1

Door Skeels Campground, a U.S. Forest Service property on Bull Lake, lacks the charms of the Koocanusa Resort. No bar, restaurant or shower, but at least there's potable water. I can handle primitive once in awhile.

Barry sets up for dinner
Heart 4 Comment 0

The mosquitos are the real problem here. They are ferocious, biting through my pants. Any spot I haven't covered with bug repellent is under attack. I get into full mosquito defense mode - rain pants, tall socks to seal off my ankles, jacket with a hood and a mosquito net over my head. Still they hover, harassing me at eye level, waiting for a gap in my defenses. 

Fetching, no?
Heart 5 Comment 2
Rachael AndersonHow awful, it’s good you’re prepared for it!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Paula MacMannFashion queen for sure! Looks like you are having some many experiences! Flexible, for sure.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago

Barry's Rice a Roni with tuna hits the spot. It's surely better than the freeze-dried stuff I passed up in Hungry Horse. He builds a nice fire and we play a few rounds of Gin before diving into the tent to escape the bugs. Looking forward to an indoor sleep tomorrow.

Heart 4 Comment 2
Scott AndersonWow. Worth the pit bulls and mosquitoes.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamTo Scott AndersonThanks, we loved the view but the bugs were pretty miserable. If I could find good alternatives to some of our upcoming camp nights I'd jump on em.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 55 miles (89 km)
Total: 285 miles (459 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 3
Comment on this entry Comment 2
George HallI stayed at the Dor Skeels campground in 2021 while riding the Northern Tier. No mosquitoes then, but neighbors who stayed up late and were noisy. From the photo, it looks like you are camped in the exact location!
Reply to this comment
10 months ago
Janice BranhamTo George HallI read in your journal about your stay there. It was a pretty spot, and quiet that night other than the buzz-buzz slap-slap.
Reply to this comment
10 months ago