Oh Dear: That Man Is Still Here - Lookin For John Fairweather - CycleBlaze

December 1, 2013

Oh Dear: That Man Is Still Here

I keep an eye on the weather online. Monday is cloudy with a chance of light rain toward Plitvice national park. On Tuesday, the picture improves, with Wednesday through to the weekend fine sunny weather.

I envisage it taking two days cycling to Plitvice and a third day looking around. Then, to the Adriatic coast; probably, reaching Split around Sunday. I'll continue to Dubrovnik, then my chosen route is back inland, provided the fine weather continues. I'd like to reach Sarajevo and then on to Belgrad, back on the Danube before the New Year, meaning, crossing mountains at the wrong time of year; but, hopefully before serious snowfall in January. On the Danube I should be fine continuing east into Bulgaria and eventually Turkey. Though, I remain flexible. This plan isn't written in stone.

This is Sunday Dec 8th's outlook.
Heart 0 Comment 0

So, today was another walk. Its good not having a hangover; remember I mentioned the beer not being all that great. I climb up the hill to the church, take a photo, then walk downhill and onwards to the railway station, then back to the centre. Approaching lunchtime, I stop to look at the pictures of platters of kebab and chips on the outside wall of a burger place. The waitress come out. A sweet young girl. Her English is limited though. I know she's trying to sell the café, but I couldn't make out what exactly she's saying until her fourth attempt. She's saying, you like menu card.

I decide to pass on lunch. I had after all scrambled eggs for breakfast at ten and I'm not feeling that hungry. I'm trying to keep the budget to around twenty-three Euros a day. Not easy when eating in this place will cost me four Euros. I decide instead to visit the supermarket and buy what is needed to make pasta later. Meanwhile I sit down for a coffee further along the street.

The young couple at the next table have a cute dog; little short legs, big loping ears and big drooping eyes. The waiter come out and set on the table the hamburger the man had ordered. In a flash, the dog is up and almost makes away with the hamburger. The man speaks stern words to her and she sits down looking up at her favoured food being devoured with a look of disgust. Thinking, greedy. He could've bought me a hamburger too. A little later, the man gives her a biscuit and all is forgiven.

Sunday morning. I stopped to look up at the colourful tiling of the roof. I clearly lost track of time and missed the service.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flags of Denmark, Croatia and Brazil. I don't know the connection. Some concern with interests in all three countries are based here, perhaps.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Croatian hero.
Heart 0 Comment 0
I bumped into the gorgeous Martina on the street.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Popular street with cafes.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The couple at the next table had a cute dog which you can see on the right (albeit out of focus).
Heart 1 Comment 0
Window shopping.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
My neighbour's laundry.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A small park in the centre of Zagreb.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A colourful restaurant.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The central market.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0