Mr President: A day wandering aimlessly in Stockholm. - Lookin For John Fairweather - CycleBlaze

September 4, 2013

Mr President: A day wandering aimlessly in Stockholm.

Actually I found cantilever brake-pads in the Uppsala bike-shop that couldn't change the bottom-bracket. It meant I could now stop in a hurry and without all the squealing, which was great on the cycle-path into Stockholm, where sporting cyclists would pass me and then I'd chase after them, weaving around slower cyclists, and coasting confidently down hills knowing I could stop if need be if another cyclist suddenly got in my way.

I stopped at a café when I reached the centre and googled hostelsinstockholm. The city backpackers was fully booked, but a hostel called "Zinkendamn" still had some beds in a dorm left. It was where I stayed on a previous visit in 1998, so I remembered how to get there. Its a lot nicer a place than the hostel in Uppsala, being located by a park, so there was no roar of traffic in the morning. I shared the dorm with an Australian called Reese who lives in Amsterdam. He was impressed by my cycle-tour, as was an American guy I didn't get his name. He's been in Sweden all Summer working on an organic farm. It was unpaid, but he says it was a good experience living with a family and learning the work routine. He'd have the weekend off and would go to town and said, their customs are so different to what he's used to. A girl would usually dance with him all night, and only at the end of the night ask his name and where he's from. Reese lamented he couldn't get a Dutch girlfriend. "The English have destroyed it. Englishmen come to Amsterdam in groups for birthday parties and behave badly, so Dutchwomen just group all English speaking men together. It doesn't matter I'm Australian."

I'm stressed out at the moment over money. I cannot say much about it but I'm waiting for money and I'm afraid to spend on anything other than the basis until the matter is sorted. So there was no going to museums today. Instead I wondered around town aimlessly.

A large part of the centre was closed down for president Obamas' visit. I thought I could avoid it but, the only way to avoid it was not to go into town. There was a big turnout and there was only a small group of demostraters with a banner which read "Stop Obama... something"

Some people thought he was coming from the sky when a helicopter rotor suddenly battered the air and whirled pass overhead. The people craned their necks to look, shading their eyes with a raised hand, but it was only a police helicopter. Then he was coming. The police outriders come along, then two huge black SUVs, followed by two limousines, followed by more black SUVs. I counted five Obamas in all these vehicles. I'm not sure, which one was actually him.

The Italian Job.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Nice Day.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Street cordoned off and people waiting to get a glimpse of Obama.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
A Fancy Street light.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Operanse.
Heart 0 Comment 0
The President of The United States. I quite like this reportage shot into the blurring sun.
Heart 0 Comment 0
A TV reporter asks the police officer "Hva Tanker du om Obama?" What do you think of Obama? My understanding of Swedish meant, I didn't hear the answer.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Once the excitement was over, the people dispersed over the bridge.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 0 Comment 0
Heart 1 Comment 0
I think I'll stick with the Intense Mint.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Flower bed in the park.
Heart 1 Comment 0
Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0