I Don't Need Hills On The Second Day: Somewhere on D100 to near Sarkoy. - Lookin For John Fairweather - CycleBlaze

February 13, 2014

I Don't Need Hills On The Second Day: Somewhere on D100 to near Sarkoy.

Fifty Turkish Liras didn't include breakfast. You can't have everything though. I got some of the journal done and then had a good night sleep, but my legs were still feeling heavy this morning while starting out at seven-thirty. I'm glad not to be riding out of the city today; just to be riding on this ample shouldered four-lane highway with the sun shining.

I pull in at the first petrol station restaurant, which has a few cars parked outside and people dining on the veranda. A sign its a reasonably good place. I take a seat and have tea, then order according to the pictures in the menu-card, something which looks like an omelette, but the waiter tells me is borek. He puts a basket of bread on the table and I hungrily eat one slice then another while waiting for my order, as I haven't eaten the evening before. Though, once I've quelled my hunger, I leave about five slices for to have with the borek. The waiter then come out and sets the plate with borek on the table and takes the bread with him as he returns inside. Though, the borek, a cheese and salami filled pastry, satisfies my hungry without more bread and then its time for another tea.

Good colour contrast upon grey asphalt and blue sky.
Heart 0 Comment 0
RAIN: This is less than half an hour later than the machinery photo. Also, notice the unsightly tenement blocks along the hill crest.
Heart 0 Comment 0
view on the opposite side.
Heart 1 Comment 0

On the road ahead, it become hazy, then a murky dark curtain of cloud moves across from the south. I've just got my rain-jacket on when me and the road are splattered with big droplets and there's that oily smell of tarmac when the rain first hits it. But after about a minute, the rain stops and the sun is just visible a few moments as a white globe through smoky moving cloud.

The itinerary is rolling. The road likewise. Though inclines are a little too long.
Heart 0 Comment 0

I keep the rain-jacket on just in case. But begin to sweat too much riding up the first of today's long inclines. There is one hill up from the coast away from the town of Terkirdag which would give a mountain pass a run for its money in terms of toughness. It just keeps going up and up at about a steady nine per cent. I pass the hotel I stayed at, just over two weeks before, on the way to Istanbul, thinking of the horrible descent down the same hill first thing on that cold morning. The road went up a couple of kilometres past the hotel.

Once over the top, there's a short descent followed by a straight which feels gradually uphill, but is most likely slow going because of a cold crosswind, while more threatening cloud is moving in. Then begins another hill, tougher than the previous one.

I get stressed when the sky is like this.
Heart 1 Comment 0

At one point, the sky brightens a bit and I stop to lunch on yesterday's bread and nutella chocolate spread. I see while checking the map, a yellow road turn-off left and heading south to a place called Sarkoy on the coast. A shorter route than continuing to Kesan and there turning left and riding south on the main highway.

The day turn around once the turn-off is reached. Is somehow glad to be off the bleak straight windswept highway, though it is as hilly as hitherto ahead. Though the hills to the south are dark with pine forest. The small road first goes down and away to the south, then come a sharp drop down and across a concrete viaduct. Then of coarse there's a long steep hill, but with pine plantation on the upper side of the road, giving the ride a scenic ambiances. And cresting this hill, I could see lots of wooded hills ahead, so finding a place to camp won't be a problem.

I keep riding until near dark, when I'm passing through a small place with a shop. I need to buy a bottle of coke and cookies for supper and possibly first thing in the morning. I'm greeted by men saying hello outside the shop. One old man with only a few teeth left in his mouth, asks do I need a hotel. I tell him I'm riding on another bit, pointing at the road so he fully understands. Beyond the village is another pine clad hill where the road swings left, rising diagonally up the side. Just at the bend, I push the bike in off the road and in amongst the trees. Mature pines with lots of space underneath their bows. I follow a pathway over roots, going in well away from the road until I come to a level spot. Here I quickly put the tent up. Then have supper of cookies and coke in the remaining daylight.

Heart 0 Comment 0

Sorry no map. Google's fault, not mine.

view on the opposite side.
Heart 1 Comment 0

Today's ride: 92 km (57 miles)
Total: 10,485 km (6,511 miles)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 2
Comment on this entry Comment 0