Union, CT to Westborough, Mass.: - Atlantic NorEaster - CycleBlaze

May 27, 2012

Union, CT to Westborough, Mass.:

Three states in an hour

Although we had a cool start to the day, by the end Rhona felt personally betrayed by the Weather Channel. An electric sign indicated 88 degrees and the sun was beating down as we once again ground our way up a hill to town. She was so hot she wouldn't even let me stop to take a picture of a pyramid shaped mirrored building. You'll have to take my word for it.

These aren't anorexic sheep. We think they are Alpacas. A white peacock sounded the alarm when we cycled past. Actually we had missed a turn on the route so we were lucky we stopped.
Heart 0 Comment 0
Although the oldster's aren't interested, this little guy thinks we are worth a closer look.
Heart 0 Comment 0

We cycled for five miles in Rhode Island. I had figured out a "shortcut" which would have eliminated the Rhode Island segment, but Rhona vetoed that option. Something about this being our best chance to ever bicycle in Rhode Island and my previous "shortcuts" being unmitigated disasters.

The crosswalks in Manchaug were green. It must be a Celtics thing.
Heart 0 Comment 0
This may have been a reservoir near Manchaug, but I'm not sure. By this point in the day I was just going where Rhona said to go. It's one of the secrets of a happy marriage.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Rhona thinks I make fun of her quirks while ignoring my own peculiarities. For example when crawling uphill in first gear it is hard to take my hands off the bars to swat at insects. It has become my practice to blow air at bugs and sometimes it even works. Rhona thinks she sometimes hears bucks snorting in the woods in response. We are a little concerned that when we get to Maine a bull moose may interpret my sound as a challenge. Well, I take comfort in knowing I can run faster than Rhona.

The tandem looks like it is taking a nap but I just finished cleaning the drivetrain and putting new brake pads on the rear wheel.Rhona thinks I only do it for fun but it is to lessen the chance that we'll have a mechanical failure on a steep hill in the blazing sun with traffic passing 4 ft. from us.
Heart 0 Comment 0

Today's ride: 65 miles (105 km)
Total: 783 miles (1,260 km)

Rate this entry's writing Heart 0
Comment on this entry Comment 0